University of Maine junior goaltender Jeremy Swayman will be the recipient of the 68th Walter Brown Award, which is presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Chery Duddy Schoenfeld, president of the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston, made the announcement on Tuesday.

The Walter Brown Award, the nation’s oldest nationally recognized college hockey honor, was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers. It was the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament.

Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, where the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game.

Swayman finished with a record of 18-11-5 with three shutouts and led the NCAA in saves with 1,099. The junior ranks second in the country with a 9.39 save percentage and 14th with a 2.07 goals-against average. His 2,060 minutes played is fifth most for qualifying netminders. He also recorded 25 games with 30 saves or more.

Swayman is Maine’s first Walter Brown Award winner since Mike McHugh won the award in 1988.