Nick Mayo has parlayed a dominant senior season at Messalonskee High School of Oakland into selection as the 2014-15 Gatorade Maine Boys Basketball Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-8-inch, 225-pound forward from Belgrade becomes the second Messalonskee player to earn the award, which was announced Friday morning, joining 1991 recipient Dana Doran.

Mayo averaged 24.4 points, 13.6 rebounds, 3.1 assists, 3.0 blocked shots and 1.8 steals per game this winter to lead coach Peter McLaughlin’s Eagles to a 14-6 record and a berth in the Eastern Maine Class A semifinals. Mayo also shot 50.2 percent from the field, 40 percent from beyond the 3-point arc and 81.1 percent from the free-throw line.

A finalist for the state’s Mr. Basketball award, Mayo also was named the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference’s Class A player of the year.

Mayo was the subject of a significant college recruiting effort during the 2014 AAU season, receiving nine scholarship offers before opting to attend Division I Eastern Kentucky University beginning next fall.

“As far as talent goes, I do not think our area — central Maine along I-95 — has seen a player like this since [two-time Gatorade Maine Boys Basketball Player of the Year] T.J, Caouette, who graduated from Winthrop High in 1996,” Lawrence said of Fairfield head coach Jason Pellerin. “At 6-foot-8, he can simply do anything he wants on the court.”

The Gatorade award also recognizes academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court.

Mayo has maintained a B average in the classroom, and he has served as a youth basketball instructor, volunteered on behalf of the Bedside Manor Alzheimer’s Care Facility and participated in a walkathon fundraiser for brain injury research. He also has donated his time as part of community cleanup efforts to benefit the elderly.

Mayo joins recent Gatorade Maine Boys Basketball Players of the Year Zach Gilpin (2013-14, Hampden Academy), Garet Beal (2012-13 and 2011-12, Jonesport-Beals), Tyler McFarland (2010-11, Camden Hills of Rockport), Stefano Mancini (2009-10, Falmouth), Thomas Knight (2008-09, Dirigo of Dixfield), Ryan Martin (2007-08, Maranacook of Readfield) and Troy Barnies (2006–07, Edward Little of Auburn) among the state’s list of former award winners.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...