December 16, 2018
Sports Latest News | UMaine Football | Ayla Reynolds | Ryan Zinke | Today's Paper

Ellsworth driver Saunders captures two feature wins at Speedway 95

HERMON, Maine — Andy Saunders of Ellsworth and Ryan Deane of Winterport showed they were the cars to beat in the early going in the Dysart’s Late Models at Speedway 95 Saturday night as they each picked up a win and a second place.

In the first race, a 40-lap event rescheduled from last week’s program due to the power failure, Deane took the checkers after grabbing the lead on a restart with eight laps to go. Meanwhile, Saunders was working his way up from a last place start in the event. Saunders was scheduled to start in the sixth spot, but when the initial green flag flew, he was unable to start due to an issue with his transmission.

After a quick trip to the pit following the caution he caused, Saunders rejoined the race at the rear of the 17-car field, still on the lead lap before the next green was waved. Saunders finished in second, followed by Shane Clark of Winterport in third. 2012 Strictly Street champion Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington finished fourth in his first-ever Late Model start, and Donny Blanchard of Bangor was fifth.

OTHER 95 RESULTS — Maine State Lottery Late Model: 1. Andy Saunders, Ellsworth; 2. Ryan Deane, Winterport; 3. Wayne Parritt, Steuben; 4. John Kalel II, Orrington; 5. Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; Darling’s Ford Sportsman (makeup): 1. Kris Watson, Hermon; 2. Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 3. Joe Legere, Milford; 4. Bradley Smart, Bradley; 5. Bradley Norris, Ellsworth; Sportsman: 1. Joe Legere, Milford; 2. Kris Watson, Hermon; 3. Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 4. Ryan Robinson, Clinton; 5. Bradley Norris, Ellsworth; Strictly Streets (makeup): 1. Andy Turbowsky, Winslow; 2. Jim Carr Jr., Clifton; 3. Shelby Kimball, Cornville; 4. Alex Berry, Harrington; 5. Matt Kimball, Cornville; Strictly Streets: 1. Shelby Kimball, Cornville; 2. Andy Turbowsky, Winslow; 3. Jim Carr Jr., Clifton; 4. Matt Kimball, Cornville; 5. Shawn Racilla, Dover-Foxcroft; Sport-Four: 1. Donny Silva, Hudson; 2. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 3. Becky Elston-Burns, Carmel; 4. Kevin Hartley, Hermon; 5. Brad Bosworth, Cornville; Bomber: 1. Chris Carroll, Greenbush; 2. Edward Archer, Skowhegan; 3. Scott Bonney, Bangor; 4. Dennis Burns, Carmel; 5. Mark Lane, Newport

Oxford Plains

At Oxford, Dale Shaw of Center Conway, N.H., outgunned Buckfield’s T.J. Brackett on a mid-race restart, then held off both Brackett and Tommy Ricker of Poland on a couple of subsequent restarts to win the 40-lap Pro Late Model main event in the Championship Series points opener at Oxford Plains Speedway Sunday.

Brackett managed to hold on to second position, with Ricker third under the checkered flag. The runner-up’s father, Tim Brackett of Buckfield, was the fourth-place finisher, with rookie Scott Farrington of Minot rounding out the top five.

OTHER OXFORD RESULTS — Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock: 1. Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 2. Matt Williams, Brownfield; 3. Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 4. Ryan Robbins, Dixfield; 5. Mike Short, Auburn; Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Mini Stock: 1. Rob Greenleaf, West Bath; 2. Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 3. Pete McCollett, Readfield; 4. Justin Larsen, Peru; 5. Shane Kaherl, Jay; Ripley & Fletcher Ford Outlaw Sportsman: 1. Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 2. Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 3. Kyle Treadwell, Auburn; 4. Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls; 5. Fred Clavet, Buckfield

Wiscasset Speedway

At Wiscasset, Darin Ripley of Appleton raced home to a first-place finish in the 35-lap Late Model Sportsman’s race at Wiscasset Speedway Saturday.

Guy Childs Jr. of Turner finished second in the race and was followed by Tasha Dyer of Arrowsic, Jerry Freve of Buckfield and Chuck Grey of Wiscasset.

OTHER WISCASSET SPEEDWAY — Strictly Street : 1. Corey Morgan, Lewiston, 2. Guy Childs Sr., Turner, 3. Tasha Dyer, Arrowsic, 4. Jerry Freve, Buckfield, 5. Chuck Grey, Wiscasset; Mini Trucks: 1. Kristopher Knox, Sanford, 2. Jeff Schmidtt, Mechanic Falls, 3. Ryan Farrar, Sumner, 4. Kevin Oliver; Outlaw Mini (20 laps): 1. George Fortin, Greene, 2. Nate Trippet, 3. Jimmy Childs, Leeds, 4. Matt Moore, Mechanic Falls, 5. Greg Cummings, Augusta;

4 Cylinder Endure: 1. Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 2. Jeff Davis, Woolwich; 3. Jacob Gagnon, Wiscasset; 4. Randy Henderson, West Paris; 5. Cody Verrill, Woolwich

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like