June 20, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Immigration | Lumber Market | RCV Ballots

Bucksport player, coach earn top LTC honors

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

BREWER, Maine — Mike Cummings, a senior quarterback and defensive back who led Bucksport to its first appearance in the Class C football state championship game since 2004, was honored as the LTC player of the year during the league’s 25th annual all-star banquet held Sunday.

Cummings, who also was nominated for the award in 2010, accounted for more than 700 rushing yards and more than 700 passing yards in leading Bucksport through an undefeated march to the LTC title. He also was a key part of a defense that did not allow more than two touchdowns in any of their 11 victories leading up to the team’s 41-14 loss to Yarmouth in the state final.

Cummings was a first-team All-LTC choice on both offense and defense.

Cummings was selected as player of the year from a field of finalists from each member school that included Orono halfback/defensive back Dominic Mowrer and John Bapst of Bangor senior tight end/defensive end Max Andrews.

Other LTC player of the year nominees were Marcus Bacco of Calais-Woodland, Andrew Levensalor of Dexter, Ryan Rebar of Foxcroft Academy, Garrett McIntyre of Hermon, Trysten Pelkey of Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln, Adam Ogden of Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield, Craig Nealley of Mount View of Thorndike, Ryan Hibbs of Stearns of Millinocket and Nick Pineo of Washington Academy of East Machias.

Joel Sankey, Bucksport’s 18th-year head coach, was named the LTC’s coach of the year for leading the Golden Bucks to an unbeaten regular season en route to the regional title.

Sam Chase, a senior from Orono, was named recipient of the fourth annual Silvernail Academic Scholar Award, a scholarship awarded to a player from an LTC school based on academic merit involving such criteria as cumulative grade point average and classes taken, such as honor classes and Advanced Placement classes.

The award is named for Andy Silvernail, who played offensive guard and linebacker at Bucksport during the 1980s and went on to play at Dartmouth until a back injury curtailed his career.

Silvernail is now a business executive in Wisconsin and with his wife, Shelby, established the football-related scholarship as an expression of gratitude for what playing the sport and in particular playing in the LTC meant in shaping his life.

Previous Silvernail award recipients were Tim Gustin of Dexter (2010), Shane Hass of John Bapst (2009) and Ed Flaherty of Calais-Woodland (2008).

Chase also was named a second-team All-LTC linebacker after helping Orono earn its first trip to the LTC championship game since 1996. He played tight end on offense for the Red Riots.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like