May 22, 2018
Baseball Latest News | Poll Questions | Marijuana Ties | Mary Mayhew | Car Theft

Former Wells, Kennebunk AD to be inducted into national athletic administrators’ hall of fame

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

Marty Ryan of Wells, a high school athletic administrator at Wells and Kennebunk high schools for 29 years, has been named one of 12 members of the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association Hall of Fame class of 2011.

Ryan, currently executive director of the Maine Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association, will be inducted Dec. 13 at Indianapolis, Ind., during banquet festivities at the 42nd annual National Athletic Directors Conference co-sponsored by the NIAAA and the National Federation of State High School Associations.

Ryan began his career in education in 1969 as a business teacher at Narragansett Regional High School in Baldwinville, Mass., where he also coached football, basketball and baseball.

Ryan became athletic director at Wells High School in 1980, then was named director of student activities in 1987. During that tenure Ryan was an active member of the Principals Advisory Committee, and served as a consultant for renovation and construction of additions to the school.

In addition, Ryan designed a new athletic complex to accommodate fields for track, softball, baseball, football practice and a soccer game/practice field.

In 2001, Ryan became athletic director at Kennebunk, where he designed and instituted a plan for renovations and remodeling of Veterans Field as well as assisted in the organization and design of athletic fields for Kennebunk Middle School. Under Ryan’s leadership, volleyball, freshman boys and girls soccer, freshman field hockey, junior varsity boys and girls swimming and middle school cheering teams were added to the Kennebunk athletic curriculum.

Ryan retired from the Kennebunk post in 2009.

Ryan has been an MIAAA member since 1980, and currently serves as its executive director and on its executive board. He has been a member of the NIAAA since 1982, and was a representative to the national conference from 1985 to 1999. Ryan also is the NIAAA’s state liaison for Maine, a position he has held since 1994.

Ryan has served on the NIAAA board of directors and was president in 2001. He served on the NIAAA awards committee and strategic plan committee, and has been on its Leadership Training National Faculty. Ryan also has assisted the NFHS by serving on the NFHS citizenship committee and strategic plan committee. He currently is a member of the NFHS wresting rules committee.

Ryan, who has been on the National Executive Directors Council since 2001, has been recognized with multiple honors, including MIAAA Athletic Director of the Year in 1987, NIAAA State Award of Merit in 1994, NFHS Citation in 1995, NIAAA Distinguished Service Award in 1997 and National Council of Secondary School Athletic Directors National Athletic Director of the Year in 2005.

Ryan was inducted into the Wells High School Hall of Fame in 2005 and the Narragansett Regional Hall of Fame in 2007.

Ryan received his bachelor’s degree from the American International College, and also took graduate courses at the University of Southern Maine, Clark University, the University of Massachusetts and Fitchburg State College.

Other members of the 2011 NIAAA Hall of Fame class are Fred Balsamo of Wallingford, Ct.; Robert Buckanavage of Yardley, Pa.; Priscilla Dillow of Plainfield, Ind.; Thomas E. Frederick, (deceased), NFHS staff; Alan Mallanda of Lake Luzerne, N.Y.; Herb Meyer of Oceanside, Calif.; Bruce Miller of Las Vegas, Nev.; Arthur Newcomer of Overland Park, Kan.; John Olson of Madison, Wisc.; James Omps of Winchester, Va.; and Barbara Twardus of Seattle, Wash.

The NIAAA is the largest national organization for high school athletic administrators with more than 8,500 individual members. The NIAAA consists of athletic director organizations in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia and serves as a full and equal partner with the National Federation of State High School Associations.


Harris Tucker is the new girls varsity basketball coach at Southern Aroostook Community School in Dyer Brook, according to the school’s athletic administrator, Murray Putnam.

Tucker, a local contractor, coached the Warriors’ girls junior varsity team last winter, and also has coaching experience at the junior high and youth levels.


The Nokomis Regional High School varsity basketball teams will host Cony of Augusta in a preseason doubleheader that not only will help prepare the Warriors for the coming campaigns, but also have a special benefit.

Proceeds from the gate receipts — tickets are $2 for the games — will be donated to the Multiple Sclerosis Society to help that organization in its fight against the debilitating disease.

“We try to do some fundraising efforts during the year,” said Nokomis athletic administrator Jason Tardy. “We have a couple of athletes here who have family members who are dealing with MS right now, so we thought this would be a good thing to do.”

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like