April 21, 2018
Living Latest News | Poll Questions | NEA Poetry Suit | Kenduskeag Stream Race | Maine Legislature

2011 State Scholastic Chess Team Championships determined

The 2011 State Scholastic Chess Team Championships were held Saturday, March 5, in the Memorial Union, University of Maine, Orono. A total of 213 players, supported by coaches and parents, gathered to contest team honors in the K-3. K-6, junior high and high school sections. Also at stake were individual achievements leading to invitation to the Individual championships, to be held at the same location on March 19. Each player competed in four games, with team honors decided by total points scored for the four games or, in the case of the High School Championship section, by head-to-head match play.

In the K-3 section, team honors were decided by the total of the team’s top three scorers. The winning team was the Deer-Isle Stonington team, winning over second-place Airline Community School. Top scorers for Deer-Isle were Ben Penfold, Cameron Stewart, each with a perfect 4 score, and Andrew Pappianne, Rylee Eaton and Cole Stewart, each with 3 points, for a team score of 11. Top scorers for the Airline School were Natalie Sheehan (2.0), Cyrus Grindal and Jayden Keefe (1.5) and Jacob Pung and Ruby DeLuca Lowell (1.0). The top scoring girl and unrated player was Rylee Eaton of Deer Isle-Stonington.

In the K-6 section, with team scores the total of each team’s five top scorers, Deer Isle-Stonington captured its second straight K-6 team title, besting second-place Breakwater School 15.5 to 14. Top team scorers for Deer Isle-Stonington included, Orly Vaughn with 3.5 points, and Kinsey Bartlett, Brendan Penfold, Soozin Cha, and Tyson Rice, all with 3 points each. The Breakwater team high scorers were Ian and Eric Youth, each with 4 points, Samuel Rallis with 2.5, Matthew Hogenaur with 2 points, and Oliver Sullivan with 1.5. The top girl scorer was Soozin Cha of Deer Isle-Stonington. The top unrated player in this section was Jonah Sautter of Lisbon Community School.

In the Elementary Novice section, the winning K-3 team was Belfast. In second place were Stillwater Montessori and Deer-Isle Stonington, with a tiebreak going to Stillwater Montessori.  The top individual performer was Ilianna Kahn of Belfast, with four wins in four games. She was joined by teammates Chase Sanders, Sydney Sanders, Kirk Stillman, Henrey Saggese, Joshua Chun, and Ronin Deschamps.  In the K-6 Novice section, Piscataquis emerged ahead of Bucksport. Matthew Griffith, Piscataquis, was top scorer with 4 points. He was joined by teammates David Hession, Sam Maines, Jackie Rebman, and Darren Weeks.

In the K-8 Championship section, Deer-Isle Stonington finished a point ahead of the Airline Community School, 14 to 13. Top scorers for Deer-Isle Stonington were Alyssa Chesney, Bethany Humphrey, Krisford Melanio, Reid Bartlett, and Cameron Wendell. Top scorers for Airline were Anna Bryan, Haley DeLuca Lowell, Andrew Jones, Laddy DeLuca Lowell, and Adrianna Keefe. The top player was Matthew Fishbein of Cape Elizabeth with four points. Top unrated was Douglas Gavelek in a tiebreaker with Nicholas Chouinard, Gregory Dimoulas, Cody Eaton, and Josiah Grace, while five players tied for top girl scorer: Haley DeLuca Lowell and Anna Bryan of the Airline Community School, Alyssa Chesney and Bethany Humphrey of Deer-Isle, and Helen Zhang of Orono.

Piscataquis took first place in the JHS Novice section, with Belfast and Stepping Stones tied in second. Belfast was awarded the second-place trophy on tiebreaks. Members of the winning team were top section player Darren Weeks and Jackie Rebman. Playing for Belfast was Alex Johnson. The top Novice K-8 player was Patrick Coyne of William S. Cohen School.

Elementary and junior high school players in the championship sections who scored 3 points or better are invited back to play in the individual championships on March 19 at with no entry fee. Any other individual may enter by paying the entry fee. Information and entry forms are available at www.ChessMaine.net.

In the High School Championship section, Cheverus emerged undefeated in match play for the day to win the State HS Team title. Top-seeded Cape Elizabeth was upset by Deer-Isle Stonington in the first round, which opened opportunities for the other seven teams in the tournament. Cape did recover to score 2.5 points to tie Bangor for second, and was awarded the second-place team trophy on tiebreaks. Members of the winning Cheverus High team were: Ethan Bergeron, Cam Prescott, Zachery Dulac, Patrick Jerome, and Connor Maines. The Cape Team consisted of Matthew Reale-Hatem, Bret Parker, Ben Hansel, Robert Freccero, and Colin Smith. Bangor fielded Keji Xu, Paul Rudnicki, Joshua Audibert, Nathan Dee, and Patrick Coyne.

Criteria for invitation to the Individuals for the High School Championship and Reserve sections were to score 3 points or better on Board 1, or 3.5 points or better on any other board. Invited back to Individuals on March 19 with no entry fee on this basis are Keji Xu and Paul Rudnicki of Bangor; Deanna Power of John Bapst; Yuval Boss of Orono; Matthew Reale-Hatem of Cape Elizabeth; Ethan Bergeron of Cheverus; and Andrew Turner of Deer-Isle Stonington. The top girl scorer was Deanna Powers of John Bapst with four points. The top unrated player was Connor Maines of Cheverus.

In the HS Reserve section, Cheverus edged out Deer Isle-Stonington, 10 to 9. The Cheverus  Reserve team included Payne Ciampi, Spencer Desrochers, and Brian Chiozzi. Scorers for Deer Isle-Stonington were Chelsea Brown, Janelle Ciomei, and Gareth Warr with 3 points each. Joshua Shuman, Dexter, and Payne Ciampi, Cheverus, were the top scorers with 4 points, and are invited back to Individuals along with top scoring girls, Chelsea Brown and Janelle Ciomei, with no extra entry fee.

In the High School Novice section, Bucksport won out over Camden, 9 to 8.5. The Bucksport top scorers for the team score (based on top three scorers) included Rachel Chen, Randy Larue, and Josh Numan, all with three points. Scoring for Camden were Matthew Clark (4 points), Lei Huang (2.5 points), with Jacob Corney, Alex Hentorn, Jacob Napa, and Alice Wong all scoring 2 points. Matthew Clark was the section’s top performer with 4 points.

Tournament leaders were Kathy Richards for the Elementary and Junior High Sections, and Kurt Klappenbach for the High School. Tournament Directors were Dan DeLuca for the K-3 section, Steve Wong for K-6, Lee Doucette for the JHS, Philip Lowell for High School Championship and Reserve sections and Tom Sandford for the all Novice sections. Trophy awards were coordinated by Andy Bryan. These were supported by a number of other volunteers, parents and coaches.

The next event on the state scholastic chess schedule is on March 19, when the state chess Individual championships will be contested, with the Maine State representative to the USCF National Denker High School Invitational to be decided. A side event, the Sidekick Quads, will also be held on March 19 for adults. The proceeds will benefit Maine scholastic chess. All events will be held at the Memorial Union, University of Maine, Orono. Visit the ChessMaine.net website for information and entry forms, and pictures from the team championships.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like