January 18, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Real ID | Closings, Cancellations and Delays | Snow Storm

2 students selected for Senate program

AUGUSTA, Maine — Two students from Maine have been selected as delegates to the 49th annual United States Senate Youth Program, which will be held March 5-12 in Washington, D.C.

David Bibeau of Scarborough and Krysta Moulton of Athens were chosen from across the state to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program, U.S. Sens. Olympia J. Snowe and Susan M. Collins announced Tuesday.

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings 104 of the most outstanding high school students — two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity — to Washington, D.C., for an intensive weeklong study of the federal government and the people who lead it.

The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of student delegates profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition, The Hearst Foundations, which fund the program, provide each of the 104 student delegates with a $5,000 undergraduate col-lege scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations. No government funds are used for the program.

David Bibeau attends Scarborough High School where he serves as secretary of the student council. David also participates in Congressional Debate, Mock Trial, Model United Nations, soccer and alpine ski racing. He has been the state champion in Congressional Debate for two years and hopes to study international relations.

Krysta Moulton attends Madison Area High School where she serves as class president. A senior mentor and president of the National Honor Society, Krysta also is a member of Business League, track and field, and 4-H. Her hobbies include exercising, target shooting, reading and watching the Boston Red Sox and Bruins. Krysta hopes to attend law school and eventually become an FBI agent.

Chosen as alternates to the 2011 program were Tyler Washburn, a resident of Bowdoin, who attends Mount Ararat High School and William Cadigan, a resident of Kennebunkport, who attends Kennebunk High School.

The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates after nomination by teachers and principals. This year’s delegates were designated by Maine Education Commissioner Angela Faherty.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like