April 21, 2019
School Sports Latest News | Kenduskeag Race | Bangor Metro | Bangor Homelessness | Today's Paper

UAlbany College field hockey 2 vs University of Maine 0

Game Time:
Add Score, Photos, or Highlights

STANFORD, Calif.  Despite a few late offensive opportunities, the No. 2 East Seed University of Maine field hockey team fell in the America East Championship game to No. 1 West Seed Albany by a score of 2-0 on Sunday afternoon at Varsity Field Hockey Turf.

The Great Danes tallied goals in 15th and 32nd minutes and limited Maine’s high-octane offense to earn the conference championship and automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament. Cosima Rocktaeschel and Elaina Burhcell each found the back of the cage in the first half for Albany.

Mia Borley registered three saves in 64 minutes played. Co-America East Goalkeeper of the Year Melissa Nealon stopped two Black Bear shots in the win.


  • The Black Bears tallied all eight of their shots in the second half. Albany led the category at 9-8.
  • Maine held a 4-3 advantage in penalty corners, with all three of Albany’s corners coming in succession in the first half.
  • Casey CrowleyBrianna Ricker and Samantha Wagg were all honored to the America East Championship Team following the game.
  • Maine had several chances late to score, but the No. 2 goals against average team in the nation prevented the No. 4 goals per game offense in the country to score.
  • If Maine is not given an at-large berth, the six Black Bears will finish their four year careers with a 53-23 record.
  • Crowley and Wagg, along with Lydia GavnerElla Mosky, Libby Rieldl have combined for 121 goals and 114 assists for 356 total points over the course of the past four seasons. In the classroom, the seniors have combined for a 3.20 GPA.


  • 15′ | On its third-consecutive penalty corner, Albany’s Rocktaeschel fired a shot just inside the circle for the goal.
  • 32′ | Burchell received a pass from Katie MacCallum and deposited a shot right in front of the cage.


  • Maine awaits to see if it earned one of the eight at-large bids to the NCAA Tournament on Sunday night at 10:00 p.m. on NCAA.com.

You may also like