May 29, 2020
Community News Latest News | Coronavirus | Bangor Metro | 'Porch Prom' | Today's Paper

UMA Professor Sarah Hentges receives U.S. Fulbright Scholar Award

Community Author: UMA News
Post Date:

University of Maine at Augusta professor to teach at the University of Southern Denmark

Sarah Hentges, Associate Professor of American Studies at the University of Maine at Augusta (UMA), has received a Fulbright Scholar Award as a Danish Distinguished Chair at the Center for American Studies, University of Southern Denmark where she will teach classes and participate in research at the University of Southern Denmark during the 2018-2019 academic year.  The award was announced by the U. S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Professor Hentges is one of more than 800 U.S. citizens who will teach, conduct research, and/or provide expertise abroad during the 2018-2019 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.  Recipients are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement as well as record of service and demonstrated leadership in their respective fields.

While at the University of Southern Denmark, Professor Hentges will be teaching two courses, Hip Hop America: Culture, Consciousness, and Movement and Girls on Fire: Young Adult Dystopia and American Futures.  Additionally, she will be team-teaching a Theory and Methods in American Studies course with a Danish colleague.

Other UMA Fulbright Scholars include, Professors Ellen Taylor (Slovenia), Brooks Stoddard (France), Mary Louis Davitt (Ukraine), Robert Kellerman (Latvia), and Lisa Botshon (Slovenia and Portugal). UMA was host to a Slovene Fulbright Scholar in 2014.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program, which operates in over 160 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has awarded more than 370,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbrighters address critical global issues in all disciplines, while forging lasting connections, and building relationships, knowledge, and leadership in support of the long-term interests of the United States. Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in many fields, including 57 who have been awarded the Nobel Prize, 82 who have received Pulitzer Prizes, and 37 who have served as a head of state or government.

For more information on the Fulbright Scholar Liaison network, please visit