November 14, 2019
Community News Latest News | Washburn Vandalism | Bangor Metro | Belfast Brewery | Today's Paper


Community Author:
Post Date:

Portland – The League of Women Voters of Maine elected Barbara McDade to her third term as president during their biennial convention Friday, May 31st and Saturday June 1st in the Burton Fisher Meeting Room at One City Center in downtown Portland. Ms. McDade, along with her newly elected board, is eager to increase the League’s presence in Maine. “I am honored to have a chance to serve this historic organization and to make the League of Women Voters an influence in Maine public policy and an inspiration for civic participation.”;

In addition to the election of officers, four guest speakers addressed League members over the weekend. Posie Cowan of Blue Hill spoke about the pivotal days of the women’s suffrage movement and her personal connection to its leaders. Amy Fried, political science professor at the University of Maine and columnist for the Bangor Daily News spoke about democracy, economic inequality, and the importance of voting and voting laws. BJ McCollister, Program Director for Maine Citizens for Clean Elections spoke about money in politics. And Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap gave an update on progress toward true Early Voting in Maine.

Barbara McDade has served as the President of the Maine League for the past four years. Before that, she served as Co-president from 2007-2009. She joined the Maine League in 2006 while working on the Open Government Sunshine Week activities. Ms McDade has been director of the Bangor Public Library since 1991 and was a library director in Pennsylvania, Virginia, and New Jersey before moving to Maine. She oversaw the renovation of the Bangor Public Library, served as president and legislative chair of the Maine Library Association, and serves on the Maine Library Commission and the Board of Maine InfoNet. While in Virginia, she served as president of the Waynesboro League of Women Voters. She is Vice President of the Rotary Club of Bangor and is organist of the First Church of Christ, Scientist in Bangor.
In addition to Mrs. McDade, the League of Women Voters of Maine (LWVME) is pleased to announce for the following Officers and Directors for 2013-2015.

Barbara McDade, Bangor (President)
Jill Ward, South Portland (Vice President)
Colleen Tucker, Portland (Secretary)
Ann Luther, Trenton (Treasurer)
Martha Dickinson, Ellsworth
Lorraine Glowczak, South Portland
Leslie Harlow, Ellsworth
Barbara Kaufman, South Freeport
Valerie Marsh, Pittsfield
Kim McCollister, Westbrook
Polly Ward, South Freeport
Cathie Whittenberg, Portland
Karla Wight, Portland
Tammy Wing, Windham

For more information about LWVME, visit

The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. Membership in the League is open to men and women of all ages. Founded in 1920, it is one of America’s most trusted grassroots organizations.