February 23, 2020
Community News Latest News | Sharon Kennedy | Bangor Metro | Central Maine Power | Today's Paper

Hutchinson Center awards scholarships

Community Author:
Post Date:

Belfast.   Over $15,000 in scholarships has been awarded this Fall semester to local students from area donors for Hutchinson Center students.  The University of Maine Hutchinson Center in Belfast and numerous donors offer scholarship opportunities to Hutchinson Center students.  The Scholarship Committee met earlier this Fall and awarded twenty-one scholarships to students attending and taking classes at the Hutchinson Center for both undergraduate and graduate level courses.   A Scholarship Recognition Luncheon will be held on Thursday, December 10th to recognize the scholarship awardees and to thank the donors.

Maria Vazquez, Belfast, was selected to receive a United Mid-Coast Charities Scholarship and Crystal Fortier, Belfast, was a recipient of the Ron and Shirley Jarvella Scholarship.

Tammy Watts of Lincolnville was chosen for the Harris B. (Pete) and Ann Bixler Scholarship and Sheila Costello of Swanville was chosen for the Rotary Club’s Kuby Scholarship.

This is the third year we are awarding the Best of the Best Scholarships, raised from the annual Village Soup and Hutchinson Center “Best of the Best Gala” event, held annually in June.  Chosen this fall for awards are:  Eric Menard, Belfast, Ariel Woehler, Northport, Kate Lindelof, Belmont, Terri Lemieux, Knox, Jennifer Fletcher, Knox and Nicolle Littrell, Belfast.

Frederick and Dione Hutchinson Scholarship was awarded to Jennifer Ditano, Knox.  Two scholarships from the Annual Fund include:  Patty Cunningham, Searsport, was from the Jim Patterson fund and Joanna Young, Bangor, from the Molly Schauffler fund.

Additionally, Hutchinson Center students benefit from the University of Maine Systemwide Osher  II Scholarships.   This Fall seven students selected for the Osher II scholarships are:  Jennifer Ditano, Sara Lindemann, Hillary Gilmore, Patty Cunningham, Sonia Vazquez, Nikalee Caron, and Samantha Herbert.  Also awarded was a Maine Community Foundation Ira Cobe scholarship to Samantha Herbert, Morrill.

The Scholarship Committee meets each semester to review applications and select students for scholarship awards.  The Scholarship Committee includes:  Ann Bixler, Mary Frenning, Jayne Giles, Terri Mahoney, Carol Robbins, Larry Theye, as well as Hutchinson Center staff:  Nancy Boyington, committee chair; Jose Cordero and Sue McCullough.  The committee was impressed with the students’ applications and career goals as well as the diversity of the student population, representing a true cross section of the Midcoast residents, including single parents, married and single students, young traditional students just getting started in college, some not so young, some coming back to college after raising a family or wanting to change careers and get a better job.  On behalf of the staff, committee and all our donors, who believe in assisting students and want to make a difference in their lives, we congratulate the recipients on pursuing a college education and wish all students the best of luck in the new semester.   

Registration is just underway for Spring 2010 classes, most beginning the week of January 11, 2010.  Scholarships are now available for the new semester (deadline is December 28th) — so please take the opportunity and make an appointment at the Hutchinson Center for advising, career planning and assistance with financial aid forms.   The time is now to begin making your future brighter for you and your family.  Call the Center at 338-8000, toll-free 800-753-9044 or stop in the Center at 80 Belmont Avenue, Route 3, Belfast.