May 30, 2020
Community News Latest News | Coronavirus | Bangor Metro | 'Porch Prom' | Today's Paper

High School student drivers compete in 7th Annual Dick Dolloff Memorial CTE Student Truck Driver Championship

Community Author: VICKI KIMBALL
Post Date:
Vicki Kimball | BDN
Vicki Kimball | BDN

AUGUSTA — On Wednesday, April 11, 2018, at the Augusta Civic Center 30 high school student truck drivers competed in a very challenging driving skills competition in either a tractor-trailer combination vehicle or in a tri-axle dump truck vehicle, depending on their qualifying ability. These students come from four Career and Technical Education (CTE) schools across Maine: Region 9 School of Applied Technology from Rumford, Region 3 Northern Penobscot in Lincoln, Tri-County Technical Center located in Dexter, and Westbrook Regional Vocational Center in Westbrook.

These four schools offer a school year long training to students that wish to enroll in their local vocational/technical school. The standard requirements these schools must follow come from Federal Motor Carrier Safety and the Federal Department of Transportation and the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles Department of Drivers Education. The student drivers enrolled in these schools are trained beyond the federal minimum of 144 hours, they can receive as much as 350 hours of actual driver training during their school year, depending on their technical center scheduling.

These students, depending on the school they attend will license as a commercial vehicle class B and/or a class A commercial vehicle driver during their Junior and/or Senior year of high school.

This high school driving competition was started more than 2 decades ago by the CDL driving Instructor for Westbrook Regional Vocational Center, Dick Dolloff with the other instructors from other vocational schools across Maine, and until 2011 was most often held in Westbrook at WRVC. This year was the 7th year the event has been held in Augusta with the help and support from MMTA (Maine Motor Transport Association) and the MPDA (Maine Professional Drivers Association) members. The brand new trucks and truck-tractors the students are allowed to use for the event were very generously donated for the day from Whited Peterbilt of Auburn and Bangor with special thanks to Jon Whited and Sue McAvoy, O’Connor Trucks in Augusta and Portland with special thanks to Pat Boucher, Freightliner and Western Star of Maine- Westbrook and Bangor with special thanks to Brian Hallowell. Several businesses were present to talk with students about the possibility of employment and observe their skills under pressure, the business there were Sargent Corporation, Lowes, State of Maine DOT, Performance Foods, HO Bouchard, Richard Carrier, Shaws Brothers and J&S Oil Co. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles provided 3 CDL Examiners to serve as judges of the obstacle course, 4 Maine State Police Commercial Vehicle Troopers judged the safety inspection portion of the event, and more than 10 members of the Maine Professional Drivers Association scored and judged as well as helped organize and run a very fun and successful event.

The results for the event are:
CLASS B Vehicle (Straight truck)- WINNERS
1st Ryan Bradbury TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center)
2nd Nicholas Ramsdell TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center)
3rd Brian Cote REG 3 (Northern Penobscot, Lincoln)
Team Trophy Class B Vehicle- TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center-Dexter)
Memorial Chris Broderick Safety Award for vehicle inspection CLASS-B vehicle- Ryan Bradbury-TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center-Dexter)

1st Alex Glidden TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center)
2nd Luke Wheeler TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center)
3rd Nathaniel Erskine TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center)
Team trophy class A- TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center)
Memorial Chris Broderick Safety Award for vehicle inspection CLASS- A vehicle – Alex Glidden TCTC (Tri-County Technical Center)
Drivers from each school who are invited for the 4th (fourth) time to participate in the new “Future Truck Driver” Division at the Professional Truck Drivers Championship to be held on Saturday, May 19th  at Dysart’s in Hermon are-

Region 9 School of Applied Technology/Rumford
B- Tyler Sterry
B- Tyler Brown
A-Destiny Crocker                                                                                                                                    A-Nicole McKenna

Westbrook Regional Voc. Center drivers-
B- Jeffrey Jake
A-Derek Corbett                                                                                                                                        A-Eliot Butts

Tri-County Technical Center/Dexter drivers-
B- Ryan Bradbury
B- Nicholas Ramsdell
A-Alex Glidden
A- Luke Wheeler

REG 3/Lincoln drivers-
B- Brian Cote
B- Dakota Jipson
A- Jacob Lee
A- Hunter Gordon