December 11, 2017
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Millinocket Marathon | Roy Moore | Paul LePage

Hermon High School Treble Makers ‘Gold’ at State Show Choir Competition

Community Author:
Post Date:

In its second year of competition, the Hermon High School Treble Makers won first prize for show choirs Saturday night with “Gold: Moments of Light” in Division I of the Maine Music Educators Association 2013 State Vocal Jazz Festival at Ellsworth High School.

Treble Makers Paige Bacon and Brooke Nason won one of the four Outstanding Soloist Awards given for Division I show choirs for their vocal and guitar duet in the song,”Gold,” and Brandon Ross won an Outstanding Soloist Award for his singing in “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg,” and rapping in “Ice, Ice, Baby.”

The Treble Makers are directed by Cami Carter, and accompanied by Colin Graebert, with August Eaton as choreographer, and Garret McIntyre on drums, Rachel Benway on piano, and Paige Bacon and Brooke Nason on guitars.

“I am elated that the hard work and dedication over the past seven months paid off for the Hermon High School Treble Makers,” Carter said. “As a show choir program in our second year, winning the state championship was more than we could have ever imagined. This year’s show, ‘Gold,’ was made up of true stories from the students’ lives set to music that inspired each story. Because the show was so personal, there was never a moment when the students didn’t remember that their job was to honor the music and stories of their peers. Before we went on last night for our final performance I asked the Treble Makers to leave every piece of their heart and soul on the stage; they did exactly what I asked and were graced with a state championship because of it.”

Hermon Arts Boosters Co-President Monique Hashey said, “The Hermon Arts Boosters could not be more proud of the accomplishments of our talented Treble Makers show choir. They have set the bar high, exceeded expectations, and earned all the support we can give them. Their director, Cami Carter, has proven herself to be the leader we needed to ignite our programs. I cannot wait to see what is coming next, and we will be there to support it.”

Members of the Treble Makers are Paige Bacon, Rachel Benway, Meaghan Brown, Zack Burgess-Look, Michaela Dumais, Bryanna Dumond, Allison Elston, Emily Ford, Taylor Gervais, Devon Godin, Joey Gordon, Kylie Graves, Alexis Hake, Alexa Hammond, Nicolette Hashey, Megan Howes, Destinee Knight, Asia Mallory, Catherine McElvain, Taylor Morrison, Brooke Nason, Sean Partridge, Alexis Pelkey, Daniel Perkins, Jenni Phipps, Ali Reynolds, Katie Reynosa, Brandon Ross, Sydney Rouillard, Elizabeth Simpson, Meaghan Sinclair, Tessa Taggart, Tiffany Tanner, Cameron Wiggins, and Marci Wiggins.

Student managers are Peter Haines, Britney Hamlin, Katie Hill, and Autumn Treadwell, with assistance by Emily Ford, Jeffrey Littlefield, and Corbin Sherman.