November 15, 2019
Community News Latest News | Maine Maritime | Bangor Metro | Marshall Wharf | Today's Paper

Go Greek

Community Author:
Post Date:
Magnus Stark | BDN
Magnus Stark | BDN

The second session of Penobscot Theatre Company’s Dramatic Academy Summer culminates August 16-18 with a series of productions inspired by classic Greek myths:

Adventures with Aesop, by Alekzander Sayers

Directed by Alekzander Sayers and starring Tiny Thespians (aged 4-6) Evan Babcock, Zach Babcock, Charlotte Hautala, Maise McCarthy, Paige Richard, Jadyn Spearin, and Lucy Valentine

Our youngest actors bring the classic tales of Aesop to life through play, imagination, and animal work, using an original script crafted especially for Penobscot Theatre Company.

The Seussodyssey, by Dan Zolidas

Directed by Ben Layman and starring Junior Troupe members (aged 7-9) Charlotte Beckwith, Thea Bowden, Anika Noack, Rachel Palmer, Avery Richard, Max Thompson, and Emma Roy

Homer meets Dr. Seuss in a comical adventure of epic proportions, complete with a singing Cyclops and the sorceress Circe serving up crew members with a side of green eggs!

The Greek Mythology Olympiaganza, by Dan Zolidas

Directed by Ben Layman and starring Youth Troupe members (aged 10-13) Lucy Morison, Andrew Barrett, Elizabeth Bates, Ian Buck, Brina Campbell, Ruby El-Hajj, Solomon Finch, Rowan Jellison, Leo Spinney, Zachary Spreng, Naomi Moynihan, Noam Osher, Zivi Osher, Sienna Newman, Rebeclyn Parker, Gabriela Roth, Lana Sabbagh, Hanna Sabbagh, Lilie Sites, Nicholas Rhodes, Katelynn Bowker, Zach Harvey, Brooke Jones, Nathan Manaker, Meg Demeritt, and Josie Guzman

This irreverent comedy offers witty fun for all ages, covering the entirety of Greek mythology using audience participation, Barbie dolls, and a hilarious five-minute version of The Iliad!

Tiger at the Gates, by Jean Giradoux, translated by Christopher Fry

Directed by Jasmine A. Ireland and starring Young Adult Ensemble members Alekzander Sayers, Mikayla Burridge, Caitlin Hession, Conor Kenny, Sydney McDonald, Megan Ward, Alyssa Stubbs, Nick Danby, Terra Malkow, Hannah Box, Daniel Perkins, Robert Brangwynne, Eddie Ward, Katherine Adam, and Luke Cote