August 21, 2019
Community News Latest News | Salmon Farming | Bangor Metro | Janet Mills | Today's Paper

Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce seeking awards nominations for Annual Chamber Awards Dinner

Community Author: Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce
Post Date:

BANGOR — The Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for awards that will be awarded at the Chamber’s annual dinner on Friday, Jan. 25, 2019 at the Cross Insurance Center.

Nominators may submit the same individual, group, or organization for more than one award, though no recipient will actually be selected to receive more than one in the same year. The deadline for submitting nominations is 5 p.m, Monday, Oct. 1

Submitting Nominations:  

Please provide a letter of support for each of your nominees. Make sure you provide the name of the nominee(s) and the award(s) for which you would like them to be considered. Submit your nominations via email to; Postal Mail to: Bangor Region Chamber, 2 Hammond Street, Suite One, Bangor, ME 04401; or online here.

If sent by email, it is essential that you request confirmation that the nomination was received.

We would love to hear from businesses who may want to have a presence at the annual dinner — one of the largest in the state! Please email us for more information.

Per policy, self-nominations cannot be considered, however a member of an organization’s board of directors may submit a nomination on its behalf. Award recipients must be Chamber members in good standing. For more information, email Shelley Sund or call 947-0307.

 Nominations are being sought for the following:  

Norbert X. Dowd Award: Our most prestigious honor recognizes a member of the business community whose commitment of time, resources and talent has made the Bangor region a better place to pursue one’s livelihood and dreams.

General Intent: The Norbert X. Dowd Award is intended to honor an individual(s) who serves their business and/or business community with distinction and who contributes significantly to the overall good of business and the betterment of the communities of the Bangor region.

General Advancement of Business:  The recipient should contribute his/her talents and abilities to the overall betterment of the Bangor region.

Creative Ability: The recipient should show a consistent high degree of creative or original thinking.

Business Service: The recipient should show a solid and continuous record of achievement for a company as an employee.

Community Service: The recipient should be active in civic, religious or organizational groups dedicated to some phase of human or social welfare in the Bangor region.

Personal Integrity: The recipient should show constructive activity and integrity in all business relations.

Business of the Year: This award recognizes a business operating our region that has set an example in leadership, innovation and quality, and/or has provided noteworthy economic opportunity to the people of the Bangor Region.

Catherine Lebowitz Award for Public Service: This honor goes to an individual from the public sector who has advanced the cause of economic opportunity in the Bangor Region.

M. Jane Irving Community Service Award: This recognition goes to a group or organization that has made the Bangor Region’s quality of life better, either by helping others directly or by enhancing community or regional assets that add to that quality of life.

Non-Profit of the Year: This award is given to a non-profit agency that has made a notable difference in the lives of the people who live in the Bangor Region.

Arthur A. Comstock Professional Service Award: This award recognizes an individual who embodies Arthur’s generous spirit, donating over an extended period of time his or her expertise to both the Chamber and the community at large.

Bion and Dorain Foster Entrepreneurship Award: This is the Chamber’s newest award, recognizing an individual or business whose innovation and creativity have succeeded in opening new economic opportunities for our region.