Houlton's Keegan Gentle dribbles around MDI defender Nate Philbrook during a Dec. 9, 2019 game in Houlton. Gentle has been named one of five winners of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame senior scholarship winners. (Joseph Cyr Photo) Credit: St

The BDN is making the most crucial coverage of the coronavirus pandemic and its economic impact in Maine free for all readers. Click here for all coronavirus stories. You can join others committed to safeguarding this vital public service by purchasing a subscription or donating directly to the newsroom.

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame on Monday announced that it is moving its fall induction ceremony to September 2021.

The decision to postpone the event was made because of concerns about COVID-19 and the restrictions on public gatherings that could still be in place, along with other factors.

The organization had in January announced its nine 2020 honorees, including Amy (Corbett) Bernatchez, Cathy (Narsiff) Caron, Tony Fournier, Leon Gorman, Merle Hallett, Lisa Kuronya Coombs, Marty Milligan, Don Richards, Carroll Ware and Lindsay Whipple Kallas.

The hall of fame now plans to hold a 2021 ceremony that will include those former Maine notables and six or more deserving recipients to be revealed next spring who will make up the Class of 2021.

At the same time, the organization announced its five high school senior scholarship winners, who were chosen from more than 200 applicants.

“There were at least a dozen valedictorians, 100 All-Staters, and many had used their athletic and academic prominence to contribute mightily to their various communities,” Maine Sports Hall of Fame executive director Bill Green said. “It was a heartening although difficult process for the committee.”

Among those who will receive a $5,000 scholarship for outstanding achievements in sport and in the classroom are Keegan Gentle of Houlton High School and Kayli Krul of Camden Hills High School in Rockport. Gentle plans to attend Maine Maritime Academy in Castine and play basketball, while Krul is headed to play soccer at Colby College in Waterville.

Other senior honorees are Hali Goodwin of Boothbay Region (Syracuse University), Carter McPhedran of Maranacook (Middlebury College) and Sophia Santamaria of Traip Academy in Kittery (University of Maine).

“An impressive group of scholar athletes, representing high schools all across our great state — they truly embody our motto of a better Maine through sport,” MSHofF Scholarship chair Lisa Hook said. “The board sends its congratulations to all of the 2020 MSHoF scholarship applicants as they are to be applauded for all that they do in their communities, on the athletic field and in the classroom.”

The hall of fame is fundraising for its scholarship program with an online Kentucky Derby Weekend raffle. The winner will receive a trip for two to the 2021 Kentucky Derby, provided by Direct Travel. In addition to round-trip airfare, the package includes luxury accommodations, tickets to the Kentucky Derby and Kentucky Oaks, as well as a VIP Party. Tickets can be purchased at https://mshof.com/raffle/.