Caribou's Parker Deprey, left, is guarded by Old Town's Sam Magoon during their Feb. 19 Class B North semifinal at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor. In the background is Old Town coach Garrett Libby. Deprey will be among the participants in next week's Aroostook League Senior All-Star Basketball Games. Credit: Joseph Cyr | Houlton Pioneer Times

The annual Aroostook League Senior All-Star Basketball Games will be held Wednesday, March 4, at Caribou High School, with the girls game at 5:30 p.m. and the boys game at 7.

Monica Bearden and Dwight Hunter will coach the girls all-stars, while Phil Faulkner and Bill McAvoy will coach the boys teams.

Students from the Maine Dance Academy will perform at halftime of each game.

Proceeds from the game funds the Aroostook League Scholarship program. In 2019 the Aroostook League awarded 10 scholarships in the amount of $400 at the annual Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete Banquet held in March at Caribou High School.

All those involved — referees, coaches, ticket takers, ticket sellers, announcer, the Maine Dance Academy, time keepers and scorekeepers — are volunteering their time to aid the Aroostook League Scholarship program.

This is the final time for basketball fans in Aroostook County to watch many of the outstanding senior boys and girls basketball players display their skills on the hardwood. Admission is $3 for students and $5 for adults.

Athletes invited to participate in the boys event are: Ashland, Drew Doughty; Caribou, Alex Bouchard, Isaac Marker and Parker Deprey; Central Aroostook, Brayden Bradbury and Ethan Pryor; Easton, Matt Pangburn; Fort Fairfield, Dawson Watson; Fort Kent, Eden Paradis and Jace Rocheleau; Greater Houlton Christian Academy, Will Austin and Parker Brewer; Hodgdon, Josh Foster; Houlton, Cam Callnan, Jaron Gentle and Keegan Gentle; Katahdin, Blake Howes; Presque Isle, Caleb Wheaton; Van Buren, Luc Perreault; and Woodland, Chris Plissey

Athletes invited to participate in the girls event are: Caribou, Paige Espling, Taylor LaBreck and Kim Susi; Central Aroostook: Breann Bradbury and Sydney Garrison; East Grand, Jordyn Cowger; Easton, Cecilia Morin; Fort Fairfield, Riley Clough, Cammi King-Demerchant and Amber Sherwood; Fort Kent, Desaire Hafford; Houlton: Teagan Ewings and Abbie Worthley; Katahdin, Lily Cullen; Presque Isle, Maggie Castonguay, Alana Legassie, Libby Moreau and Rebecca Rider; Shead, Halle Sullivan; and Southern Aroostook, Makaelyn Porter.

The 2020 Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete banquet will be held 6 p.m. Tuesday, March 10 in the ATM Room at the Caribou Vocational/Technical Center. The scholarship winners will be chosen by a drawing and the scholarship will be awarded at the beginning of their second semester of their first year of college. 

Russell Currier, a member of the United States Biathlon Team, will be the guest speaker.