February 25, 2020
High School Sports Latest News | Child Welfare System | Bangor Metro | Kevin Hancock | Today's Paper

PVC selects all-star teams for swimming and diving, wrestling

Ernie Clark | BDN
Ernie Clark | BDN
Bucksport's David Gross (top) battles Joseph Tuulima of Penobscot Valley of Howland in the 285-pound championship final at the Penobscot Valley Conference championship meet at Piscataquis Community High School in Guilford in February. Gross has been named a PVC all-star.

All-star teams


Penobscot Valley Conference

All-Conference Teams



First Team — 200 Medley Relay: Sam Pelletier, Nick Partridge, Camden Holmes, Henry Scheff, Ellsworth; 200 Freestyle: Sean Hill, Ellsworth; 200 IM.: Carson Prouty, Bangor; 50 Freestyle: Camden Holmes, Ellsworth; Diving: Sam Mitchell, MDI; 100 Butterfly: Cameron LaBree, Hampden; 100 Freestyle: Carson Prouty, Bangor; 500 Freestyle: Sean Hill, Ellsworth; 200 Free Relay: Henry Scheff, Ian Brenner-Simpson, Nick Partridge, Sean Hill, Ellsworth; 100 Backstroke: Sam Pelletier, Ellsworth; 100 Breaststroke: Cameron LaBree, Hampden; 400 Free Relay: Sean Hill, Beckett Markosian, Sam Pelletier, Camden Holmes, Ellsworth

Second Team — 200 Medley Relay: Fritz Oldenburg, Carson Prouty, Tate Scovil, Connor Prouty, Bangor; 200 Freestyle: Tyler Woodworth, MDI; 200 IM.: Sam Pelletier, Ellsworth, Ellsworth; 50 Freestyle: Connor Prouty, Bangor; Diving: Sam Slavin, John Bapst; 100 Butterfly: Liam Sullivan, MDI; 100 Freestyle: Tyler Woodworth, MDI; 500 Freestyle: Liam Sullivan, MDI; 200 Free Relay: Tyler Woodworth, Tyler Willis, Isaac Weaver, Liam Sullivan, MDI; 100 Backstroke: Colin Rutherford, Old Town; 100 Breaststroke: Nick Partridge, Ellsworth; 400 Free Relay: Tyler Woodworth, Amos Price, Ponce Saltysiak, Liam Sullivan, MDI

Honorable Mention — 200 Freestyle: Beckett Markosian; 200 IM.: Nick Partridge; 50 Freestyle: Henry Scheff, Ellsworth; 100 Butterfly: Camden Homes, Ellsworth; 100 Freestyle: Henry Scheff, Ellsworth; 500 Freestyle: Tyler Willis, MDI; 100 Backstroke: Zain Fitzsimmons, Washington Acad.; 100 Breaststroke: Isaac Weaver, MDI

Performer of the Meet: Cameron LaBree, Hampden, Phil Emery Men Coach of the Year: Jason Snyder, Hampden; Bobbie Stoyell Diving Coach of the Year: Martina Bosse, Brewer


First Team — 200 Medley Relay: Rachel Hand, Susanna Sellnow, McKayla Kendall, Ginny Hunt, Bangor; 200 Freestyle: Maddie Huerth, Bangor; 200 IM: Kristy Barry, Ellsworth; 50 Freestyle: McKayla Kendall, Bangor; Diving: Teagan Blackie, Old Town; 100 Butterfly: MaKayla Kendall, Bangor; 100 Freestyle: Sydney Blain, Brewer; 500 Freestyle: Adria Horton, MDI; 200 Free Relay: Ellie Clarke, Caitlin MacPherson, Miriam Nelson, Kristy Barry, Ellsworth; 100 Backstroke: Rachel Hand, Bangor; 100 Breaststroke: Susanna Sellnow, Bangor; 400 Free Relay: Maddie Huerth, Susanna Sellnow, Ginny Hunt, Rachel Hand, Bangor

Second Team — 200 Medley Relay: Kristy Barry, Caitlin MacPherson, Ellie Clark, Miriam Nelson, Ellsworth; 200 Freestyle: Madison Miller, John Bapst; 200 IM: Rachel Hand, Bangor; 50 Freestyle: Ellie Clarke, Ellsworth; Diving: Elena Springer, Ellsworth; 100 Butterfly: Kristy Barry, Ellsworth; 100 Freestyle: Emily Ketch, Old Town; 500 Freestyle: Madison Miller, John Bapst; 200 Free Relay: Claire Pellegrino, Maddie Huerth, Maya Elkadi, McKayla Kendall, Bangor; 100 Backstroke: Ellie Clarke, Ellsworth; 100 Breaststroke: Rachel Vine, Hampden; 400 Free Relay: Maria Saltysiak, Adria Horton, Addy Smith, Ruby Brown, MDI

Honorable Mention — 200 Freestyle: Emma Butterfield, Brewer; 200 IM: Ginny Hunt, Bangor; 50 Freestyle: Emily Ketch, Old Town; Diving: Sarah Danby, Bangor; 100 Butterfly: Sarah Dalton, John Bapst; 100 Freestyle: Susanna Sellnow, Bangor; 500 Freestyle: Emma Butterfield, Brewer; 100 Backstroke: Caroline Blain, Brewer; 100 Breaststroke: Caitlin MacPherson, Ellsworth

Performer of the Meet: McKayla Kendall, Bangor; Gary Isherwood Women’s Coach of the Year: Jim Goodwin, Ellsworth; Bobbie Stoyell Diving Coach of the Year: Martina Bosse, Brewer


First Team — 106 pounds: Deegan Tidswell, Mattanawcook Acad.; 113: Jackson Sutherland, Mattanawcook Acad.; 120: Landon St. Peter, John Bapst; 126: Oakley Dugans, Bangor Christian; 132: Caleb Weeks, Dexter; 138: Justin Wing, Dexter; 145: Logan Lord, Ellsworth; 152: Isiah Hesseltine, Dexter; 160: Dustin Simmons, Foxcroft Acad.; 170: Zachary Wilson, PCHS; 182: Josiah Brown, Washington Acad.; 195: Lucas Ames, Foxcroft Acad.; 220: Eric Bennett, Dexter; 285: David Gross, Bucksport

Second Team — 106 pounds: Alex Burbank, Bucksport; 113: Kaleb Nightingale, Bucksport; 120: Rico Ayala, Foxcroft Acad.; 126: Ethan Moulton, PCHS; 132: Travis Mushero, Mattanawook Acad.; 138: Josh Tatlock, Foxcroft Acad.; 145: Jacob Nadeau, PCHS; 152: A.J. Athinson, Foxcroft Acad.; 160: Gabriel Stone, Dexter; 170: Gus Irwin, Dexter; 182: Charlie Hughes, Ellsworth; 195: Jared Smith, John Bapst; 220: Dakota Page, Mattanawcook Acad.; 285: Joe Tuulima, PVHS

Honorable Mention — 106 pounds: Sawyer McCarty, Foxcroft Acad.; 113: Mitchell Grower, Calais; 120: Travis Hutchinson, Bucksport; 126: Grady Reardon, Foxcroft Acad.; 132: Fischer Cobb, PCHS; 138: Caleb Robbins, Caribou; 145: Nathan Schobel, Dexter; 152: Richard Perkins, Bucksport; 160: Kaden Demerchant, Caribou; 170: Nick Taylor, Ellsworth; 182: Ethan Harkins, MDI; 195: Anthony Woods, Dexter; 220: Jacob Coghill, Bucksport; 285: Sam Hoff, MDI

Coach of the Year: Matt Lindsay, Mattanawcook Acad.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like