September 15, 2019
High School Sports Latest News | Court Sentences | Bangor Metro | Tribes Settlement | Today's Paper

Brewer girls capture Class B indoor track state championship

David Utterback | BDN
David Utterback | BDN
The members of the Brewer High School girls indoor track and field team pose with the trophy after winning the Class B state championship on Saturday at Bates College in Lewiston.

Sophie Inman and Kaitlyn Helfen each won an event and eight different athletes scored points on Saturday as the Brewer Witches earned their first indoor championship since 1999 with an eight-point victory over York at the Class B track and field championship held at Bates College in Lewiston.

The Witches tallied 71 points and the Wildcats took home the runner-up plaque with 63 points. Greely of Cumberland Center finished third with 60 points, followed by Penquis Valley of Milo and Cape Elizabeth, each of which posted 28 points.

Mount Desert Island of Bar Harbor (24), Belfast (24), Orono (21), Waterville (21) and Freeport (18) rounded out the top 10 girls squads.

York emerged victorious in the boys team competition, scoring 77.5 points to easily outdistance runner-up Hermon (57). Greely was third with 49.5 points, followed by Belfast (41.5) and Old Town (35).

Earning the Nos. 6-10 positions were Brewer (30), Bucksport (24), Lincoln Academy of Newcastle (19), Ellsworth (15) and Waterville (14).

In the girls meet, Brewer spread out its scoring, paced by Inman and Helfen. Inman claimed the high jump crown at 5 feet, 2 inches, while Helfen went 9-6 to take the pole vault. Olivia Mosca took second in the mile and third in the two-mile and Morgan Honey was the runner-up in the 200 and placed third in the 55-meter hurdles.

The Witches’ other point producers were Madison Gibbs (fourth pole vault, seventh hurdles), Hannah Hopkins (fourth hurdles), Mickey Hersey (sixth 800) and Abby Stroup (sixth long jump).

It was the eighth indoor state championship for Brewer, but was the program’s first since 1999. All of the prior wins came in Class A.

Runner-up York relied heavily on its sprinters and hurdles, spearheaded by Hayley Smith, who won the 200 meters in 26.78 and was second in the hurdles. The Wildcats also won the 4×200 relay in 1:51.04 with the team of Grace Beecher, Lexi Brent, Erin O’Donnell and Smith and finished third in the 4×800 relay.

Brent went second in the 400 and fifth in the hurdles while Phoebe Slovenski (second pole vault), O’Donnell (fourth 400) and Abbi Kavanaugh (fifth shot put) were other key contributors.

The Penobscot Valley Conference-Eastern Maine Indoor Track League also turned out several individual champions. That group was headlined by Cymeria Robshaw of Penquis, who won the 55 meters in 7.33 seconds and the triple jump at 36 feet, 1 3/4 inches, and was second in the long jump.

Camille Kohtala of Orono was the 400-meter champion (1:01.59), Zoe Olson of MDI claimed the 800 (2:27.94) and Old Town’s Emma Hargreaves went 38-0 1/4 to win the shot put.

The other girls event winners included: Marin Provencher of Greely (mile, 5:32.44), Carolyn Todd of Greely (2-mile, 12:02.46) and Darcy Cochran of Cape Elizabeth (55 hurdles, 8.41).

MDI opened the meet by winning the 4×800 relay in 10:26.67. That unit featured Grace Munger, Olivia Johnson, Katelyn Osborne and Olson).

In the boys competition, Nick Rainforth led the assault for York with a win in the 400 meters (53.01) and a third in the 200. Jon Burke took the hurdles title (7.88) and was fifth in the high jump and Jon Rodrigues won the triple jump at 42-3 1/2 and garnered fifth in the long jump.

It was the fifth indoor championship for the York boys, the program’s first since winning back to back in 2015 and 2016.

Trevor LaVigne was the runner-up in the 400, with Griffin Bean (pole vault) and Ben Hay (high jump) each taking a third.

The Wildcats also were the runners-up in the relays. The 4×200 quartet included Rodrigues, Rainforth, LaVigne and Hayden Henriksen, while the 4×800 squad was made up of Rollan Lemieux, Cavin McNamara, Gabe Sarno and LaVigne.

Individual champions coming from the PVC-EMITL ranks were paced by Zach Beaton of Hermon, who nearly tripled. He won the 200 (23.27) and the high jump (6-2) and finished second by .07 seconds in the hurdles.

Carter Tolmasoff of Bucksport was the winner in the 55 meters (6.71) and placed second in the 200 and MDI’s Gilbert Isaacs won the gold medal in the shot put with a heave of 47-7 3/4.

Jack Hansen of Belfast captured the pole vault at 13 feet even and also won the long jump at 21-8 1/2.

The other event winners were: Matthew Todd of Greely (800, 2:01.03), Sam Russ of Lincoln Academy (mile, 4:35.80), Greely’s Luke Marsanskis in the two-mile (10:22.06), and Jonathan Schomaker of Leavitt High in Turner Center in the 400-yard wheelchair race (1:56.03).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like