November 16, 2018
Football Latest News | Poll Questions | Ranked-Choice Voting | Election 2018 | Snow

Falmouth, Scarborough, Wells standouts named finalists for Fitzpatrick Trophy

Three southern Maine football standouts — including two who led their teams to state championships this fall — have been named finalists for the 47th annual James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy.

Jack Bryant of Falmouth, Owen Garrard of Scarborough and Nolan Potter of Wells have emerged from a pool of 12 semifinalists as the top candidates for the award, which is presented to top high school senior football player in the state regardless of class based on a survey of media and high school football head coaches from around Maine.

Bryant quarterbacked Falmouth to the Class B North championship game, completing 86 of 154 passes for 1,509 yards with 17 touchdowns and two interceptions. He also rushed for 1,076 yards and 18 more touchdowns for the Yachtsmen, and plans to continue his playing career at Bates College in Lewiston next year.

Garrard led Scarborough to the Class A state championship, rushing for 1,204 yards and 24 touchdowns along with two receiving touchdowns. Garrard also starred at linebacker where he made 76 tackles, including 10 for a loss.

Garrard scored five touchdowns in the Class A state championship game when the Red Storm defeated Windham 57-0.

Potter, a fullback and linebacker, was instrumental in Wells winning the Class D state championship this year after claiming the Class C state crown in 2016.

Potter rushed for 160 yards and two touchdowns on 17 carries in this year’s state title game as Wells defeated Foxcroft Academy 48-0.

Potter rushed for 1,550 yards and 28 touchdowns overall for the undefeated Warriors this fall while recording more than 100 tackles on defense.

This year’s winner is scheduled to be announced during a Jan. 14, 2018, banquet in Portland.

Other semifinalists were quarterback Tim Albert from Leavitt of Turner Center, quarterback-safety Nick Clawson of Foxcroft Academy in Dover-Foxcroft, quarterback Grant Hartley of Edward Little in Auburn, linebacker Cameron Houde of Thornton Academy in Saco, halfback-safety Colby Lee of Mount Desert Island in Bar Harbor, wide receiver Jordan Roddy of Cony in Augusta, quarterback Connor Sirois of Bonny Eagle of Standish, running back Ryan Weare of Cape Elizabeth, and halfback-linebacker Sean Whalen of Madison-Carrabec.

Follow BDN Maine Sports on Facebook for the latest in Maine high school and college sports.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like