PORTLAND, Maine — Chief Justice Leigh Saufley announced on Wednesday the recipients of the Maine Judicial Branch employee performance awards for 2015.

Earning the Judicial Branch Center Performance Award is Jeffrey Henthorn of Portland, who serves as director of court facilities.

According to a release issued by the Administrative Office of the Courts, Henthorn’s role ensures the safe operation of 36 courthouses throughout Maine, the Violations Bureau in Lewiston and the Administrative Office in Portland.

“Jeff represents many career employees, who work quietly behind the scenes to keep our operation running,” Saufley said.

Earning the Special Service Award was the Court Management System Request for Proposal Steering Committee, which is responsible for preparing for the purchase of a modern case management and electronic filing system. Honored employees included John Smith of Brunswick, Beth Maddaus of Sumner, Ellen Hjelm of Windham, James Ross of Cape Elizabeth, Anne Jordan of South Portland, Anita Alexander of Phippsburg, Superior Court Justice Anne Murray of Bangor and District Court Judge Susan Oram of Auburn.

In addition, Chris Oberg of Winthrop, manager of application development and implementation, is the 2015 Outstanding Judicial Employee of the Year; Michele Haggan of Lewiston, administrative clerk in Lewiston District Court, won a Special Service Award for her work implementing the unified criminal docket in Androscoggin County; James Ross, deputy chief of the judicial marshals, won the Roy Rice award given to a person, organization or group who has made a contribution to the safety of the employees of the Judicial Branch and people participating in court activities.

Ryan McLaughlin

BDN sports reporter Ryan McLaughlin grew up in Brewer and is a lifelong fan of the New England Patriots, Boston Red Sox, Boston Celtics and Boston Bruins. In "The Boston Blitz" he'll be sharing his perspective...