Five Sea Dogs earn all-star berths

The Portland Sea Dogs will have five players participating in the 2015 Sullivan Tire All-Star Classic, which will be held at Hadlock Field in Portland on July 15.

Infielders Carlos Asuaje, Marco Hernandez and Jantzen Witte will represent the Sea Dogs at the Class AA mid-summer classic along with pitchers William Cuevas and Robby Scott.

The all-star game will feature the Eastern Division All-Stars against the Western Division All-Stars. Each team will consist of 24 players. One position player and one pitcher representing each team was selected through online fan balloting. Remaining roster spots were filled through voting by Eastern League media, managers, and officials.

Cuevas and Witte were the fan selections for the Sea Dogs.

Judge upholds Hernandez conviction

BOSTON — A Massachusetts judge on Wednesday rejected a request by lawyers for former National Football League player Aaron Hernandez to overturn his conviction for the 2013 murder of an acquaintance.

A jury in April found Hernandez guilty of murdering semi-professional football player Odin Lloyd at a North Attleborough, industrial park not far from Hernandez’s home.

The former New England Patriots tight end is awaiting a second trial in December on charges of fatally shooting two Cape Verdean nationals outside a Boston nightclub in 2012, after a dispute involving a spilled drink.

Massachusetts Superior Court Associate Justice Susan Garsh rejected a defense claim that the prosecution, which never produced a murder weapon and relied largely on circumstantial evidence, had failed to prove its case.

Sox’s Sale joins exclusive ‘K’ company

ST. LOUIS — When he reared back and threw a fastball by St. Louis Cardinals shortstop Jhonny Peralta on Tuesday night in the sixth inning for his 10th strikeout, Chicago White Sox left-hander Chris Sale joined a class where it doesn’t take long to call roll.

Pedro Martinez, here. Chris Sale, here. That’s it and that’s all. No Nolan Ryan, no Sandy Koufax, not even Dave Freisleben of the 1974 Padres.

In Chicago’s 2-1, 11-inning win over St. Louis, Sale joined Martinez as the only MLB pitchers to even fan 10 or more in eight straight starts. For good measure, Sale finished the game with 12 punchouts, giving him 75 for the month.

That made him the fourth pitcher since 1914 to notch at least 74 strikeouts in a month, joining Ryan, Koufax and Sam McDowell. Sale is the first guy to do it since Ryan fanned 87 for the 1977 California Angels.

Penguins trade for Kessel

The Pittsburgh Penguins acquired high-scoring forward Phil Kessel from the Toronto Maple Leafs in a deal involving six players and three draft picks on Wednesday.

Kessel, along with forward Tyler Biggs, defenseman Tim Erixon and a 2016 second-round draft pick, went to Pittsburgh for defenseman Scott Harrington, forwards Kasperi Kapanen and Nick Spaling and first and third-round draft picks in 2016.

Toronto will also cover $1.25 million per year of Kessel’s salary.

Kessel, who had 25 goals in 82 games last season and has scored more than 20 goals in seven straight seasons, is signed for seven seasons with an $8 million salary-cap charge, according to

The five-time 30-goal scorer gives the Penguins a top wing to play with either Sidney

Sabres sign BU’s Eichel

The Buffalo Sabres signed forward Jack Eichel, the No. 2 overall pick in the 2015 NHL Draft, to a three-year, entry-level contract Wednesday.

The 6-foot-2, 196-pound Eichel joins the organization after a standout season at Boston University in which he became the second freshman ever to earn the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as college hockey’s top player.

Eichel, a native of North Chelmsford, Mass., led all NCAA players with 71 points (26 goals, 45 assists) in 40 games in 2014-15. In the postseason, he led the Terriers to a conference championship, earning Most Valuable Player honors in the Hockey East Tournament before adding two goals and three assists in four NCAA Tournament games.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...