ORONO, Maine — The University of Maine football team will have six of its contests televised during the 2015 season.

The Black Bears will be shown nationally on three occasions under the Colonial Athletic Association’s television package while three of its home dates will picked up by the Black Bears’ local television affiliate, WVII-ABC 7 of Bangor.

Local broadcasts also will be shown on WPME-Portland and Fox College Sports.

Maine’s home opener against Rhode Island will kick off at 3:30 p.m. on the American Sports Network. The Black Bears’ homecoming showdown with Yale at 3:30 p.m. Oct. 17 will be shown locally on WVII-ABC 7, as will the following week’s game against Stony Brook, with that kickoff set for 12:30 p.m.

On Oct. 31, the Black Bears will travel to Villanova for a nationally televised broadcast on the NBC Sports Network beginning at 7:30 p.m.

Maine’s final two home contests will close out the TV package with the Nov. 7 date with Towson on the American Sports Network at 7 p.m. before Maine hosts Elon in a WVII-ABC 7 telecast at 12:30 p.m. Nov. 14.

35 Black Bears named Hockey East all-academic

The University of Maine men’s and women’s ice hockey teams combined to have 35 student-athletes named to the 2014-15 Hockey East All-Academic Teams announced Wednesday.

The men’s team had 17 honorees to rank among the league’s 12 schools.

Merrimack led the conference with 22 men’s student-athletes honored. Maine was second, followed by New Hampshire and UMass Lowell, each with 16 student-athletes honored. Next were Vermont (15), Notre Dame (10), UConn (9), UMass (9), Providence (7), Boston College (5), Boston University (4) and Northeastern (4).

Maine’s Conor Riley, Jake Rutt, Devin Shore and Steven Swavely all were honored for the third time in their careers.

Second-time selections for the Black Bears were Cam Brown, Brady Campbell, Ben Hutton, Brian Morgan, Bill Norman and Eric Schurhamer, while Blaine Byron, Mark Hamilton, Chris Howat, Cedric Lacroix, Jack Musil, Nick Nignes and Sean Romeo all were honored for the first time.

The Maine women’s squad led all Hockey East schools with 18 student-athletes named to the HE all-academic team on Wednesday. In addition, Jessica Hall and Katy Massey were named two of five Hockey East Top Scholar-Athletes — marking the fourth straight year Massey has earned the honor.

Hall and Massey were named to the 2014-15 Hockey East All-Academic All-Star Team, which honors the top grade-point averages by position. Both achieved a perfect 4.0 this past year.

Massey was one of nine student-athletes named Distinguished Scholars, having been named to the All-Academic Team all four of her years with the Black Bears.

Hall, Abbey Cook, Brooklyn Langlois, Kelsey MacSorley, Jennifer More and Audra Richards all were honored for the third time in their careers.

Eve Boissonneault, Emilie Brigham, Hailey Browne and Jessica Vallatton were recognized for the second year while Kristin Gilmour, Victoria Hummel, Taylor Landry, Brooke Stacey and Meghann Treacy were first-time honorees.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...