Postseason play for Maine high school tennis commences Saturday with singles tournament qualifying rounds for boys and girls at several venues around the state.

Early round matches will be held at five regionals: Region 1 (Caribou High School), Region 2 (Bangor area), Region 3 (boys at Buker Courts, Augusta, and girls at Mount Ararat School, Topsham), Region 4 (Lewiston High School) and Region 5 (boys at Waynflete School, Portland, and girls at Deering High School, Portland).

The top qualifiers from each region will advance to the state Rounds of 48 and 32 on Friday, May 29, at Colby College in Waterville. The Round of 16 and quarterfinals will follow May 30 at Colby, with the semifinals and state championship matches set for Monday, June 1, at Bates College in Lewiston.

Region 1 will advance four boys and four girls to the state Rounds of 48 and 32 while other regions will have the following number of boys and girls representatives: Region 2 (11), Region 3 (eight), Region 4 (eight) and Region 5 (17).

Heading up the girls’ singles field is two-time defending state champion Olivia Leavitt, a senior from Falmouth who is top-seeded in Region 5. Among her more serious challengers should be Bethany Hammond, a sophomore from Belgrade and Saint Dominic Academy in Auburn who reached the 2014 semifinals; Falmouth’s Julia Brogan, a junior who reached last year’s quarterfinals and the 2013 semifinals; and Rosemary Campanella, a freshman from Wells who is seeded second behind Leavitt in Region 5.

Leading contenders to follow the graduated Brendan McCarthy of Falmouth as the boys state champion include last year’s runner-up, sophomore Nick Mathieu of Mount Ararat in Topsham, the top seed from Region 3; senior Isaac Salas of Waynflete, a 2014 semifinalist now top-ranked in Region 5, Teodor Antelj, a junior from Fryeburg Academy via Serbia; and Falmouth senior Aiden McGrory, a quarterfinalist last spring.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...