June 20, 2018
Midcoast Latest News | Poll Questions | Fuddruckers | Opioid Sales | RCV Ballots

Brunswick council chairman ‘not likely’ to seek third term on council

Courtesy of The Forecaster
Courtesy of The Forecaster
Benet Pols
By Peter L. McGuire, The Forecaster

BRUNSWICK — Town Council Chairman Benet Pols may not seek a third three-year term in November, and he is encouraging other candidates to run in his stead.

In an interview Wednesday, Pols said he would like to see other individuals serve on the council but will seek another term if no other candidates surface.

“I’d like to encourage people to step up and do it, but it’s not impossible that I would do it if no one comes out or if it’s just one person who seems to be looking to fly into an easy open spot,” Pols said. “I’d like there to be a good race.”

Pols was elected to the council in 2008 representing District 7 and was re-elected in 2011 to an at-large seat.

“It may be time for someone else to get involved,” he said.

Pols is one of six councilors and school board members — District 5, District 7 and at-large — whose seats are up for election Nov. 4. Nomination papers for the seats are available at the town office beginning Friday, July 25.

All offices are for three-year terms, and candidates have until Sept. 5 to submit nomination papers to the town clerk’s office. Candidates for district seats must obtain 25 signatures from eligible Brunswick voters to qualify for the ballot; at-large nominees need 100 signatures.

District 5 covers eastern-central Brunswick, which includes Brunswick Landing, part of Cooks Corner and shoreline around Princes Point. It is roughly bordered by Harpswell Road to the west and Gurnet Road to the east.

The district is represented by Councilor Gerald Favreau and school board member James Grant. Both said in emails they intend to run for re-election.

District 7 covers residential and rural neighborhoods in central Brunswick, roughly bordered by Bowdoin College, Church Road, Woodside Drive and Pleasant Hill Road.

The district is represented by Councilor Sarah Brayman and school board Chairwoman Michele Joyce. In an email, Joyce said she intends to seek re-election; Brayman could not be reached.

William Thomson is the at-large School Board member. In an email Tuesday, he said he intends to seek another term.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like