June 19, 2018
American Legion Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

Nine members inducted into Maine Sports Hall of Fame

Joel C. Holcomb | BDN
Joel C. Holcomb | BDN
The Maine Sports Hall of Fame inducted nine new members during a ceremony Sunday at the Augusta Civic Center. A President's Award was also given to William Haggett. The inductees are (front row, from left): former U.S. Senator George Mitchell, Abigail Spector, Bill Green, and President's Award winner Haggett; and back row: Steve Pound, Ed Flaherty, Eleanor Logan, Julia Clukey, Jack Cosgrove and Joe Ferris.


AUGUSTA, Maine — A prestigious nine-member class was inducted into the Maine Sports Hall of Fame during its 39th annual awards banquet Sunday at the Augusta Civic Center.

The inductees included former U.S. Senate majority leader George Mitchell, winter Olympian Julia Clukey, University of Maine football coach Jack Cosgrove, former UMaine baseball star Joe Ferris, University of Southern Maine baseball coach Ed Flaherty, TV sportscaster Bill Green, Olympic gold medalist Eleanor Logan, former Stearns of Millinocket basketball standout Steve Pound and golf standout Abigail Spector.

William Haggett received the President’s Award.

Mitchell was a central figure in two high-profile sports-related developments as an investigator in the Major League Baseball steroids scandal in 2006 and as an integrity monitor following the Penn State sexual abuse scandal in 2012.

Clukey was America’s top-ranked women’s luger, ranked sixth in the world with two second-place finishes on the World Cup circuit and placed 17th in the 2010 Olympics.

Cosgrove led the Black Bears to the school’s first Colonial Athletic Association title last season and has the most wins of any of the 34 head coaches in the program’s history.

Ferris was the 1964 College World Series MVP after recording wins over Seton Hall and Southern California along with a save.

Flaherty has guided USM to an 842-379 record entering the 2014 season, including national titles in 1991 and 1997.

Green is a two-time Maine Sportscaster of the year and has been featured on TV shows on the state’s recreational and outdoor sports.

Logan won on a gold medal with the U.S. women’s eight crew in the 2008 Olympics at Beijing and repeated four years later in London..

Pound led the Minutemen to the 1968 State LL championship, averaging 40 points per game and went on to star at Acadia University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, where he was twice voted Athlete of the Year.

Spector was the winner of four schoolgirl golf championships at Waterville Senior High School, won five state women’s amateur titles and was awarded a full scholarship at the University of North Carolina.

Haggett coached American Legion baseball for several years in Bath. His leadership was a central factor in the creation of athletic and sports opportunities in the city.

Five high school scholar-athletes were also honored as recipients of $5,000 scholarships at the banquet: Carsyn Koch, Washburn; Ian Lee, Madawaska; Alexandra Logan, Cheverus of Portland; Mikayla Turner, Messalonskee of Oakland; and Rayne Whitten, Massabesic High School of Waterboro.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like