Ben Lucas became the first football player in Cony High School history to win the James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy on Sunday.

The record-breaking quarterback from the Augusta school was presented the 43rd edition of the trophy that represents the state’s top senior player-sportsman during a banquet held in Portland.

Other finalists for the award were Justin Zukowski of Portland and Nicco DeLorenzo of Kennebunk.

Lucas led Cony to a 9-2 record and its first football state championship since 1932 this fall.

He completed 225 of 373 pass attempts for 3,357 yards, 41 touchdowns and just eight interceptions this season, capped off by a 24-of-46, 347-yard performance in Cony’s come-from-behind 30-23 win over Kennebunk.

In that title game, the 6-foot-4-inch, 230-pound Lucas drove the Rams 99 yards to score the winning touchdown on a 25-yard pass to Jonathan Saban with one minute left in the game.

Lucas concluded his high school football career with 7,575 passing yards and 89 touchdown passes — both considered unofficial state records — while throwing just 28 interceptions in more than 900 passing attempts.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...