May 21, 2018
Football Latest News | Poll Questions | Marijuana Ties | Mary Mayhew | Vintage Finery

Cony’s Lucas, MDI’s Candage among Fitzpatrick Trophy semifinalists

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

Ben Lucas of Cony of Augusta and Teagan Candage of Mount Desert Island in Bar Harbor are among 12 semifinalists for the James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy, the Portland-based award that honors the state’s best senior football player-sportsman.

Other semifinalists were Justin Zukowski of Portland, Nicco DeLorenzo of Kennebunk, Ben Greenberg of Scarborough, Levi Morin of Leavitt of Turner Center, Kyle Heath of Westbrook, Cody O’Brien of Cheverus of Portland, Corey Creeger of Biddeford, Jedidiah Scott of Sanford, Duncan Preston of South Portland and Cody Lynn of Thornton Academy of Saco.

Morin and Candage were the lone Class C honorees, while Lucas, DeLorenzo and Heath come from Class B schools. The other semifinalists are Class A players.

Lucas passed for more than 3,000 yards and 41 touchdowns this fall while leading Cony to the Class B state championship, and finished his four years with the Rams with an unofficial state-record 89 career touchdown passes.

Candage led Eastern Maine Class C in rushing, totaling 1,184 yards while averaging 9.6 yards per carry and scoring 12 touchdowns for the Trojans, who qualified for postseason play and finished with a 6-3 record.

Head football coaches from around the state and selected members of the media will vote from among the semifinalists, with the top three in the balloting being named finalists. The winner will be announced Jan. 19.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like