June 20, 2018
Cross Country Latest News | Poll Questions | Fuddruckers | Opioid Sales | RCV Ballots

MDI girls win third straight state cross country crown; Orono, Bonny Eagle girls, Lewiston, Cape Elizabeth, Boothbay boys also champs

George Almasi/Times Record | BDN
George Almasi/Times Record | BDN
Mount Desert Island runners Waylon Henggler (321), Isabel Erickson (319) and Maggie Painter (323) compete during the state Class B cross country championships Saturday in Cumberland.
By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

CUMBERLAND, Maine — The Mount Desert Island girls captured their third straight Class B title while Orono narrowly missed sweeping both Class C crowns during Saturday’s high school cross country state championship meet at the Twin Brook Recreation Area.

MDI, with three of the top six finishers in its race, stormed to victory with 49 points compared to 90 for second-place Freeport.

Senior Isabel Erickson and junior Waylon Henggeler finished third and fourth overall for coach Desiree Sirois’ Trojans, while freshman Lydia Dacorte (sixth), junior Caroline Driscoll (19th) and freshman Erin White (22nd) gave MDI a depth of scoring quality no rival could match.

Kirstin Sandreuter of host Greely High School was the Class B individual champion with the fastest girls’ time of the day regardless of class for the 3.1-mile course, 18 minutes, 37.96 seconds. Ellsworth’s Aleta Looker was second in 19:49.43.

Orono edged defending state champion Washburn 48-50 to win Class C girls title but fell to Boothbay by an identical margin, 68-70, in the boys meet.

In the girls’ race, freshmen Kassidy Dill and Hannah Steelman and junior Lily Koffman finished 5-6-7 to pace Orono.

Sophomore Olivia Fandel (17th) and senior Jordan Richards (21st) also helped enable the Red Riots to edge past a Washburn team led by senior Carsyn Koch, who became one of the few girls’ runners in Maine high school history to win four consecutive state championships after successfully defending her three previous individual titles with a time of 20:24.79.

Undefeated Boothbay edged the Orono boys behind seniors Benn Scully and Robert Campbell, who finished eighth and ninth, respectively, just behind Orono’s James O’Neil (seventh) and just ahead of the Riots’ Tristan Butterfield in 10th.

The Seahawks’ Joey Paolillo was 11th while teammates Matt Burnham (19th) and Jack Hasch (29th) completed Boothbay’s point-producers, while Orono’s other scorers were Conall Molloy (13th), Josh Marquis (21st) and Brian Westhoven (26th).

Josef Holt of Telstar in Bethel was the Class C boys individual winner in 17:00.87, followed by second-place Matthew Toussaint of Fort Kent in 17:15.75.

The fastest boys’ time of day regardless of class belonged to Ellsworth senior Dan Curts, who won the Class B race for the second straight year with a clocking of 16:09.22 despite still feeling the effects of a nagging hamstring injury.

Liam Simpson of Cape Elizabeth finished 10 seconds back in second place, followed by Ellsworth’s Brayden Beardsley in third at 16:26.79.

Cape Elizabeth placed four of its five scorers among the top 12 overall finishers to edge Ellsworth 49-61 for the team title, with Peter Doane (fifth), Mitch Morris (eighth), Kyle Kennedy (12th) and Julian Pelzer (27th) also helping the Capers win their second straight state championship.

In Class A, the Bonny Eagle of Standish girls won their second straight state title while the Lewiston boys claimed gold for the first time since 2007.

Junior Isaiah Harris (17:01.27) placed second in the boys race to pace a pack of five Lewiston runners who finished among the top 19 overall with an ever-so-tight pack time of 33.16 seconds.

Mohamed Awil (fourth), Osman Mohamed (14th) and Mohamed Mohamed (17th) also were part of the Blue Devil pack that finished with 51 points compared to 94 for runner-up Scarborough and 113 for third-place Bangor.

Josh Horne, a senior from Mt. Blue of Farmington, won the Class A boys race in 16:43.79, while Harris, Caleb Lord of Hampden Academy (17:01.93), Awil (17:03.78) and Jonathan Stanhope of Bangor (17:08.44) rounded out the top five.

Sophomore Kialeigh Marston won the Class A girls’ race in 19:34.16 to lead Bonny Eagle to its team title. Teammates Mary Szatkowski (fourth), Kristen Glennie (12th), Zoe Goodwin (32nd) and Kyuanna Libby (39th) also helped the Scots finish with 81 points to defeat Massabesic of Waterboro (100) and Falmouth (107) for the crown.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like