June 20, 2018
Baseball Latest News | Poll Questions | Immigration | Lumber Market | RCV Ballots

Husson baseball team beats Castleton State for NAC title


CASTLETON, Vt. — The Husson University Eagles captured their second North Atlantic Conference baseball title in three years with a 4-2 victory over the Castleton State Spartans in the championship game Monday.

The NAC champ does not receive an automatic qualifier to the NCAA Division III tourney.

Both Husson and Castleton State could receive invitations to compete in the ECAC Tourney.

Pat McEwen earned the win for second-ranked Husson (26-17), allowing two earned runs on six hits in seven innings. Nate Swahn took the loss for Castleton (28-13), allowing four earned runs on four hits in five innings. Matt Ravey threw three scoreless innings in relief to keep the No. 1 Spartans close.

Dylan Foster led Husson’s offense with two hits, an RBI and two runs scored. Shawn Smith and Brandon Gendreau each added two hits. Castleton’s Ryan Zielinski, Matt McNamee and Macyn Clifford each had two hits.

Castleton struck first with a run in the top of the third inning when Tyler Lord walked and later scored on a Joe Borowski single.

Husson responded with a run in the bottom of the fourth inning on a sacrifice fly by Josh Gaudette.

The Spartans took a one-run lead again in the top of the fifth when McNamee hit a two-out RBI single, plating Zielinski from second base.

Husson tied the game in the bottom half of the inning. Gendreau led off with a double down the left-field line, and was driven in when Dylan Foster laced a two-out single to right field.

Smith then drove in the winning run with a single to center and the Eagles added a run on a wild pitch.

Husson’s Brandon Reilly was named the tourney MVP after throwing a complete game in Husson’s opener, a 1-0 shutout of Colby-Sawyer. He also earned a save Monday.

Husson’s Foster and Gaudette were also named to the all-tourney team along with Castleton’s Zielinski, Cameron Curler and Derek Osborne; Thomas College’s Eric Sucy and James Lamb and Colby-Sawyer’s Kevin Keith and Andy Lapple.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like