June 22, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Veteran coach Brad Bishop on tap for Messalonskee football post

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

OAKLAND, Maine — Brad Bishop, a former head football coach at Morse of Bath, Lawrence of Fairfield and Livermore Falls high schools, is expected to receive final approval to take the same post at Messalonskee of Oakland when the RSU 18 board of directors meets on May 1.

Bishop, who spent the last two seasons as an assistant coach at Mt. Blue of Farmington, would replace Chapin LaBelle, who took over at Messalonskee on an interim basis midway through the 2012 season after head coach Wes Littlefield resigned after a practice incident involving a player.

Littlefield initially faced a misdemeanor charge of assault, but the Kennebec County district attorney’s office opted in mid-November not to pursue the case, citing a lack of evidence.

Messalonskee finished 6-4 last fall and advanced to the Pine Tree Conference Class A semifinals. The Eagles will compete in Eastern Maine Class B this year under a plan to expand high school football in the state from three to four classes, which was given final approval last month by the Maine Principals’ Association general membership.

Bishop most recently served as a head coach at Livermore Falls until that school merged with neighboring Jay two summers ago to form Spruce Mountain High School.

Bishop then joined the staff of head coach Gary Parlin at Mt. Blue and last fall helped the Cougars win the Class B state championship.

Athletic administrators honored

Susan Robbins, athletic administrator at Yarmouth High School, recently became the first woman to receive the Robert J. Lahey Athletic Director of the Year award from the Maine Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association.

Several other athletic administrators from around the state also were recognized during the group’s annual spring conference held at the Samoset Resort in Rockport.

Retired Brewer athletic administrator Dennis Kiah was presented the Martin E. Ryan Award of Excellence during the ceremony, while Biddeford athletic administrator Dennis Walton received the Gerry Durgin Award for Excellence in Leadership.

Special Achievement Awards were presented to athletic administrators Tim Watt of Fort Fairfield (Aroostook League), Randy Morrison of Calais (Downeast Athletic Conference), Molly Bishop of Richmond (East-West Conference), Scott Walker of Morse of Bath (Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference), Sally Boivin of Spruce Mountain of Jay (Mountain Valley Conference), Tim Smith of Foxcroft Academy (Penobscot Valley Conference), Todd Livingston of South Portland (Southwestern Maine Activities Association) and Ross Burdick of Waynflete School of Portland (Western Maine Conference).

Livingston also received the association’s Past Presidents’ Special Achievement Award, while the Larry LaBrie Distinguished Service Outside the Field Awards were presented to swimming official Duffy Akerley and wrestling official Dennis Bishop.

The Past President’s Ring was awarded to retired Biddeford athletic administrator Don Wilson, while the Keith Lancaster Professional Development Award went to Jeff Ramich of Leavitt of Turner Center, the Robert Boucher Seventh Player Award was presented to Robert Sinford of Machias, and Bob Gilman of Falmouth Middle School received the Excellence in Middle Level Athletic Administration Award.

The Maine Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association/Maine Sports Hall of Fame Award was presented to Mike Burnham, assistant executive director of the Maine Principals’ Association.

Lauren Steidl of Cape Elizabeth and Drew Townsend of Oceanside of Rockland-Thomaston were named Don Dow MIAAA Scholar-Athletes, while Katrina Lapham of Belfast and Jace Valls of Kennebunk were selected as MIAAA Scholar Essayists.

Media awards were presented to Bob McPhee of the Lewiston Sun Journal (print) and Chris Popper of WDEA-AM in Ellsworth (electronic).

State final dates, locales announced

State championship game venues and times have been announced for the spring high school sports season.

The baseball and softball state finals are scheduled for Saturday, June 15, with the Class B and D title games at Saint Joseph’s College in Standish. The Class B softball game is at 11 a.m. with the Class B baseball clash at 4 p.m. Class D finals will be played at noon (baseball) and 3 p.m. (softball).

Both Class A finals will be played in Augusta, with the softball game at noon at Cony High School and the baseball game at 2 p.m. at Morton Field.

The Class C baseball game is slated for 2 p.m. at Mansfield Stadium in Bangor while the Class C softball matchup is at noon at Coffin Field in Brewer.

State outdoor track and field championship meets are set for 10 a.m. Saturday, June 1, with Class A at the Brewer Community School, Class B at McMann Field in Bath and Class C at Foxcroft Academy in Dover-Foxcroft.

Team tennis finals will be played Saturday, June 8, at the University of Maine in Orono, with Class C at 10 a.m., Class B at 1 p.m. and Class A at 4 p.m.

And lacrosse state title matches are set for Saturday, June 15, at Fitzpatrick Stadium in Portland. The four-game day begins with Class A boys at 10 a.m., followed by Class B boys at 12:30 p.m., Class A girls at 3 p.m. and Class B girls at 5:30 p.m.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like