LAMOINE, Maine — Bill Pinkham was a dedicated runner, a regular presence on the Maine road racing circuit.

He also was enmeshed in the local community, serving four terms as state representative for House District 132, which covers Eastbrook, Gouldsboro, Hancock, Lamoine, Osborn, Sorrento, Trenton, Waltham, Winter Harbor and No. 8 Township. He was the former chief of the Maine Marine Patrol and Lamoine’s harbor master.

After his sudden death at age 62 while cooling down after competing in Bangor’s Walter Hunt Memorial 3K road race on July 4, 2005, Pinkham’s running legacy lives on with a road race in his memory, the Flattop 5K.

The eighth running of the 3.1-mile race is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. Saturday — just after a 9:30 a.m. kids’ 1-mile event — at the Lamoine School on Route 184. The school is about 6 miles from the intersection of Routes 1 and 184.

A field of 273 runners finished last year’s race led by Bangor’s Adam Goode, who was timed in 15 minutes and 35 seconds to edge 2011 champion Judson Cake of Bar Harbor by four seconds.

Kristine Guaraldo of Brewer is the defending women’s champion with a time of 19:39.

The Flattop 5K is the second event in the 2013 Tradewinds Market Place/Sub 5 Track Club Road Race Series — Goode and Sarah Mulcahy of Baring were the men’s and women’s champions in the Epic Finale 5K held Dec. 31 in Bangor.

It also is the first race in the seventh annual Eden Athletics Jack Russell’s Steakhouse Points Series.

March race results

The seasonal whims of Mother Nature provide relatively few opportunities for road races locally at this time of year, but two events that defied the conditions this month were the Chamberlain March Half Marathon in Brewer and the Lucky Lebrechaun 5K in Rockport.

Jaron Jones of Old Town led a field of 157 finishers to win the half-marathon in 1 hour, 15 minutes and 15 seconds, just three seconds ahead of Goode. Joe Capehart (1:16:17) was third, followed by Eric Rudolph (1:16.40), Matt Homich (1:19:14) and Eric Mauricette (1:19:15).

Sarah Mulcahy of Baring won the women’s division in 1:28:34, followed by Kristine Guaraldo (1:33:59), Waylon Henggeler (1:36:13), Miranda Monk (1:38:16) and Katherine Gibson (1:39:37).

Tim Turrey of Ellsworth won the Lucky Leprechaun 5K in 17:31, followed by Jake Feener of Lincolnville (18:19) and 14-year-old Caleb Love-Webb of Waldoboro (19:28).

Jen Pollis of Rockland won the women’s division in 24:34, one second ahead of Rockland’s Kelly Willis. Melinda Larrabee of Belmont was third in 24:47.

Samuelson to run Boston Marathon

Inaugural Olympic women’s marathon gold medalist Joan Benoit Samuelson of Freeport will be among several former champions who will participate in events surrounding this year’s 117th running of the Boston Marathon, slated for Monday, April 15.

Samuelson, 55, will run this year’s race, as will former race winners Greg Meyer and Amby Burfoot.

Samuelson won the 1979 and 1983 Boston Marathons before winning the Olympic gold medal in Los Angeles in 1984.

She will return to Boston on the 30th anniversary of her 1983 victory, the race in which she established a world record of 2 hours, 22 minutes and 43 seconds.

Samuelson has run the two most recent Boston Marathons (2:51:29 in 2011; 3:28:08 in 2012), including last year amid extremely warm weather while starting with her daughter, Abby.

Like Samuelson, the 57-year-old Meyer will mark the 30th anniversary of his 1983 Boston Marathon victory — the last time the race was won by an American.

Burfoot, 66, will mark the 45th anniversary of his Boston Marathon in 1968, when he became the event’s first American champion in 11 years.

Both Meyer and Burfoot will run this year’s event with their families in celebration of their accomplishments.

The Boston Athletic Association will honor Samuelson, Meyer and Burfoot at its annual Champions’ Breakfast on April 13.

Defending race champions Wesley Korir of Kenya (men’s open division), Sharon Cherop of Kenya (women’s open race), Joshua Cassidy of Canada (men’s wheelchair race) and Shirley Reilly of Arizona (women’s wheelchair race) also will attend the Champions’ Breakfast to receive their top-seeded bibs for this year’s event.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...