April 18, 2019
Sports Latest News | Mueller Investigation | Bangor Metro | Opioid Epidemic | Today's Paper

Ott, Nemec win UMaine ‘M’ Club’s Dean Smith Awards as school’s top student-athletes

ORONO, Maine — University of Maine ice hockey players Brittany Ott and Mark Nemec on Monday were honored as the recipients of the 2013 “M” Club Awards.

The award is bestowed each year to the top male and female student-athletes at UMaine who display academic and athletic achievement, citizenship and community service.

The honor is named after former Black Bears star student-athlete Dean Smith of Dover-Foxcroft, who during 1989-90 won the prestigious Walter Byers Award presented by the NCAA. The senior men’s basketball captain combined the top grade point average among senior electrical engineering majors with the North Atlantic Conference scoring title.

The honor was first presented as the “M” Club Scholarship Award in 1980 but was renamed to honor Dean Smith in 1993.

Ott, a goaltender from St. Clair Shores, Mich., finished her career with a 32-53-13 record, a 2.74 goals-against average and a .915 save percentage. In UMaine career statistics, she ranks first in games played (107), is second in saves (2,919) and wins (32), and is tied for second in shutouts (8).

Ott, No. 3 in career save percentage (.915), made 797 saves this season and recorded 30 or more saves in 46 of her 107 career games. She set a school record with 72 saves in the Bears’ Hockey East quarterfinal against Boston College.

Majoring in kinesiology and physical education/exercise science, Ott is a three-time Maine Scholar-Athlete Award winner. She has also been named to the Hockey East All-Academic Team during her career.

Nemec, a senior tri-captain from Rouses Point, N.Y., played in all 38 games and scored two goals and added two assists for four points. He ended his career by appearing in 80 consecutive games among 137 overall at UMaine.

Nemec finished with five goals and 12 assists in his career and was among the team’s top penalty-killers.

Nemec was one of 20 candidates for the Senior CLASS Award, which honors seniors who are committed to staying in school and portraying the values of community, classroom, character and competition. As a junior, he was named the co-recipient of the team’s Unsung Hero Award. He was also active in community service projects.

Nemec, a double major in mechanical engineering and management, is a four-time Maine Scholar-Athlete Award winner, receiving his second gold medal. He has also earned a spot on the Hockey East All-Academic Team each of the past three seasons.

UMaine also recognized its sixth annual “Team Maine,” which is composed of the top sophomore, junior or senior in each sport who achieves the highest GPA for the calendar year 2012.

Those honorees among the men are: Colin Gay (baseball, mass communication), Mike Allison (basketball, kinesiology and physical education/exercise science), Kelton Cullenberg (cross country, KPE/exercise science), Logan Nee (indoor/outdoor track and field, financial economics and political science), Sam Shipley (football, nursing and Spanish), Nemec (ice hockey, mechanical engineering and management), Cody Lachance (swimming, forestry).

The women’s winners are: Courtney Anderson (basketball, elementary education), Holly Stewart (field hockey, KPE/exercise science), Katelyn Massey (ice hockey, psychology), Hilary Kane (softball, art education), Meaghan Bradica (soccer, KPE/exercise science), Lisa Bijman (soccer, KPE/exercise science), Meagan Price-Leibenzeder (soccer, social work), Carmen Linden (swimming, sociology and anthropology), Carolyn Stocker (cross country, food science and human nutrition), Mary Fagan (indoor track and field, elementary education), Jesse Labreck (outdoor track and field, elementary education), Kristyn Souliere (cheering, animal and veterinary sciences).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like