NEWBURGH, Maine — Newburgh will have a new selectman, as the town will move from a five-member selectboard back to three.

Newcomer Scott Preston defeated incumbent Steve Burgess 157 to 121 to win a two-year seat on the board of selectmen in Newburgh’s municipal election on Tuesday.

Selectboard chair Stanley “Skip” Smith won the three-year seat by defeating fellow selectmen Chris Yountz and James Hopkins. Smith had 210 votes to 120 for Yountz and 51 for Hopkins.

Claude Bolduc remains as the town’s third selectman.

Heath Miller earned 341 votes for the three-year SAD 22 board of directors position. He was the only person on the ballot.

Two years ago, Newburgh elected to move from a town manager form of government with three selectmen to an administrative assistant form of government with five selectmen. Last year, the town reversed that move. Serena Bemis-Goodall, the town’s administrative assistant, was elected in a 3-2 vote in February to become Newburgh’s town manager beginning at the town meeting.

The Newburgh town meeting is on from 8 to 9 a.m. Saturday, March 9, at the town office.