June 21, 2018
Tourney Time Latest News | Poll Questions | Pride | Janet Mills | Urban Farming Ban

Bangor Auditorium tourney trivia

Brian Swartz | BDN
Brian Swartz | BDN
Tight defense played by Sierra Young (40) of Calais cannot keep Rhiannan Jackson (2) of Wayneflete from scoring as the Blue Devils and Flyers meet at the Bangor Auditorium on Saturday, March 2, for the State Class C girls' championship game.
By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

BANGOR, Maine — For any Bangor Auditorium tournament trivia buffs, here are a few noteworthy events from Saturday’s high school basketball state championship swan song for the aging edifice set to be replaced this year by the Cross Insurance Center.

Trevor Lyford of Penquis Valley of Milo had both the final rebound at the venue and the final point — a free throw with seven seconds left to seal the Patriots’ 61-54 win over Boothbay in the Class C boys state final.

Teammate Isaiah Bess had the final steal and final field goal, with the steal leading to a layup with 28 seconds remaining.

Bess also had the final two slam dunks, the last one coming with 6 minutes left in the third quarter off a backdoor pass from Lyford.

Boothbay’s Andrew Hallinan made the final tournament 3-pointer at the Auditorium, a step-back shot from the right wing to pull the Seahawks within 55-54 with 37.7 seconds left.

A balance of basketball power

For those into a geographic breakdown of this year’s high school basketball state championships, 2013 couldn’t have provided more of a balance between Eastern and Western Maine.

Not only did the two regions split the gold balls, each won a state title in each of the four classes.

And both East and West won two girls championships and two boys championships.

The East won boys state titles in Classes A (Hampden Academy) and C (Penquis Valley of Milo) and girls crowns in Classes B (Presque Isle) and D (Washburn).

Western Maine secured boys championships in Classes B (Falmouth) and D (Forest Hills of Jackman) and girls titles in Classes A (McAuley of Portland) and C (Waynflete of Portland).

And four of the new champions won their gold balls on the same courts where they won their regional tournaments (Hampden, Penquis, Washburn and Falmouth) while the other four champions were crowned on their opponents’ regional tournament home courts (Presque Isle, Forest Hills, McAuley and Waynflete).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like