May 24, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Sharon Carrillo | Elver Season | Goat Airbnb

Skowhegan rolls to KVAC wrestling crown; Camden Hills takes ‘B’ division

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

AUGUSTA, Maine — The Skowhegan Indians crowned five individual champions Saturday while winning top honors at the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference wrestling meet held at Cony High School.

Skowhegan won the overall and Class A team titles with 227.5 points, while defending champion Camden Hills of Rockport retained the KVAC Class B crown with 142.5 points.

Class B Belfast placed third in the 21-school field with 104 points, with Mt. Blue of Farmington (96) and Gardiner (81) completing the top five.

Skowhegan had 11 top-four individual finishes in the meet, led by weight-class champions Tyler Craig (113 pounds), Julian Sirois (120), Carter Stevens (152), Levi Hayden (182) and Andrew Pineo (195).

Kameron Doucette (132), Kaleb Brown (138) and Mikal Federici (170) each placed second for the Indians, while Logan Stevens finished third at 145 pounds and John Swett (126) and Christian Jackson (160) earned fourth-place finishes.

Camden Hills crowned just one individual champion in 145-pound Coleman Powers, but John Underhill placed second for the Windjammers at 120, James Archer (113), Chris Weiss (126) and Connor Winchenbach (138) each won his consolation final to place third and Calan Bragg added a fourth-place finish at 132.

Belfast was led by individual champions Dagan Berenyi and Brent Waterman. Waterman, the reigning New England champion at 132 pounds, won the conference title at that weight class. Berenyi edged former state champion Khalil Newbill of Mt. Blue 4-2 in overtime in the 126-pound final and was the meet’s outstanding Class B wrestler.

Other top-four finishers for the Lions were second-place Peter Kelley at 195 and fourth-place Walker Roberts (138) and Wyatt Roberts (182).

Jared Jensen of Brunswick, champion of the 170-pound weight class, was named the meet’s top Class A performer.

Other weight-class champions were Peter Del Gallo of Gardiner (106), Daniel Del Gallo of Gardiner (138), Malik Geiger of Oxford Hills of South Paris (160), Victor Irwin of Brewer (220), and Aaron Lint of Winslow (285).

Named the conference’s coaches of the year were Tony Stevens of Oxford Hills (Class A) and Matt Hanley of Gardiner (Class B).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like