April 23, 2019
Politics Latest News | Tim Throckmorton | Bangor Metro | Marijuana Legalization | Today's Paper

Maine electors cast votes for Obama, Biden

AUGUSTA, Maine — The state’s four presidential electors formally cast their ballots to re-elect President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden on Monday, formalizing the Democrats’ victory in last month’s elections.

Maine’s slate of presidential electors were Diane Denk of Kennebunk representing 1st Congressional District, Marianna Stevens of Kingfield representing 2nd District, and at-large electors Craig Hickman of Winthrop, a newly sworn-in state representative, and Jill Duson of Portland. They met in the Maine House chamber to cast their votes.

Since Obama won Maine’s popular vote, the Democratic slate of electors cast votes. Hickman presided over the proceedings.

Electors in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., were to convene Monday to cast their electoral college ballots. Obama was expected to win 332 of the 538 electoral votes.

Obama won 55 percent of Maine’s presidential vote, according to results from the Maine secretary of state. Republican challenger Mitt Romney won 40 percent.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like