June 21, 2018
Politics Latest News | Poll Questions | Family Separations | Boston TV | LePage Troops

Democrats in Senate Districts 4, 7 and 16 win election

By Robert Long, BDN Staff

BANGOR, Maine — With all precincts reporting, Democrats David Dutremble in Senate District 4, Rebecca Millett in Senate District 7 and Margaret Craven in Senate District 16 have won election to the next Maine Senate.

Dutremble will succeed Sen. Nancy Sullivan, a Democrat who could not seek re-election because of term limits. He received 62 percent of the vote to independent James Booth’s 38 percent.

Millett won the seat vacated by Sen. Cynthia Dill, a Democrat who ran unsuccessfully this year for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Olympia Snowe. She received 65 percent of the vote to defeat Republican Michael Darren Wallace, who gained 35 percent of the vote.

Craven, a Democrat from Lewiston, won re-election to a third term in District 16. She bested Republican Robert Reed by a difference of 65 percent to 35 percent.

With the three victories, Democrats in Maine retain three Senate seats the party held in the outgoing 125th Legislature.

Earlier, Republican Sen. Nichi Farnham conceded defeat to Democrat Geoff Gratwick in Senate District 32, which includes Bangor and Hermon.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like