BANGOR, Maine — Bangor residents elected one incumbent, one former member and one newcomer to the Bangor City Council during an election that kept ballot counters at the Civic Center into the early morning hours on Wednesday.

Counting of ballots continued until until nearly 5 a.m. Wednesday, according to City Clerk Lisa Goodwin, but unofficial results showed that incumbent Patricia Blanchette, former Councilor David Nealley and Pauline Civiello earned spots on the council.

Blanchette got 5,478 votes, Civiello 5,343, Nealley 5,091, Richard Bruns 4,659, Megan Shorette 4,464, Kenneth Huhn 3,778, and Chelsea Prybylo 1,961.

Voters also elected two new members to Bangor School Committee. Sarah Smiley, a columnist for the BDN, earned one spot with 8,724 votes, with Marc Eastman winning the second seat with 5,559 votes. James Moore had 4,449 votes, and fell short of a seat on the committee.

Ballot counting ran late because a large number of voters came at the last minute and needed to register. Five minutes before the polls were scheduled to close at 8 p.m., more than 100 people were lined up waiting to vote, according to Goodwin.

“We had such an influx of new registrations at the end that it really set back our counting,” she said.

The new councilors will be sworn in at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 14, in the City Council chambers, City Manager Cathy Conlow said Tuesday. They will take part in their first meeting later that evening.

A third school committee seat left open by the Oct. 9 resignation of former school committee member Kate Dickerson will remain vacant until the November 2013 election.

Bangor voters also approved a pair of amendments to the city charter. One requires voter ratification of City Council action to borrow money under certain circumstances. The other changes the name of the undesignated fund to the “unassigned fund” and increases the amount of money required to be stored in that fund.