WINSLOW, Maine — Two Winslow High School students died Friday night when the car they were in crashed head-on into a taxicab.

According to the Winslow Police Department, a vehicle being driven by Scott Loisel, 16, of Winslow was traveling south on the South Reynolds Road at a high rate of speed at 11 p.m. when it crested a hill, got into the dirt shoulder on the right-hand side of the road, veered into the oncoming lane and struck the taxicab head-on.

Loisel and his passenger, Alexandria Ferland, 16, of Vassalboro, died at the scene, according to police.

The speed limit is 40 miles per hour on that stretch of road and Loisel’s vehicle was going an estimated 70 mph.

Loisel’s vehicle came to rest on its roof. The teens were partially ejected from the vehicle, according to police. They were not wearing seat belts.

The vehicle’s engine area was on fire, but quickly extinguished by Winslow police Lt. Josh Veilleux, who responded to the crash along with Officer Damon Lefferts, who is the leading investigating officer.

The southbound vehicle was an Elm City taxicab, driven by Jamie Howard, 36, of Waterville. She had two passengers, David Green Jr., 41, of Belgrade, who was in a rear seat, and Brian Roy 43, of Winslow, who was in the front passenger seat.

Howard and Green were transported to the Thayer campus of Maine General Medical Center in Waterville. Roy was transported to Inland Hospital in Waterville and then transferred to Eastern Maine Medical Center in Bangor. All three are in stable condition, according to police.

The road was shut down for several hours as the accident was reconstructed by Sgt. Mike

Pion from Kennebec Sheriffs Department.

Officers from the Waterville Police Department and the Kennebec Sheriff’s Office assisted at the scene. The Winslow Fire/Rescue Department, Delta Ambulance, Waterville Fire and Fairfield Fire departments assisted as well.

The South Reynolds Road is located off the China Road.

Counselors were available at the school on Saturday.

Winslow High School has a student enrollment of 480.