May 21, 2018
Cross Country Latest News | Poll Questions | Concussions | Maine Media College | Boston Red Sox

Runners dedicate Old Town Sectional Invitational to John Bapst’s Owen Krause

By BDN Staff Reports, Special to the BDN

OLD TOWN, Maine — High school runners dedicated the races of Saturday’s 63rd Old Town Sectional Invitational to Owen Krause, the John Bapst junior who died in a car accident Wednesday morning on his way to school.

Two varsity and two junior varsity races were dedicated to Krause, who would have been one of John Bapst’s seven varsity runners in the meet. Runners from all the schools wore purple or white bandanas, headbands or ribbons in Krause’s memory.

“Before the awards ceremony, on their own, the runners gathered in a big circle and gave a shout-out to Owen,” meet director Mary Cady said in an email to the BDN.

The boys and girls teams from Mount Desert Island of Bar Harbor went on to capture the varsity titles. The MDI boys compiled 57 points and were followed by John Bapst (83), Caribou (97), Orono (102), Bangor Christian (113), Presque Isle (114), Old Town (170), Washburn (211), Hermon (222), Foxcroft Academy (261) and Washington Academy of East Machias (269).

The MDI girls turned in a dominating score of 33 and were followed by Caribou (64), Washburn (67), John Bapst (98), Orono (105), Presque Isle (175), Old Town (192), and Hermon (203).

Caribou’s Ron Lund won the boys race with a time of 17 minutes 17.56 seconds over the 3.1-mile course while Washburn’s Carsyn Koch captured the girls race in 19:56.

Lucas Kinney followed his Vikings teammate to the finish line as he finished second in the boys race with a 17:25.05 clocking. He was followed by Bangor Christian’s Dylan Merchant (17:28.51), Orono’s Tyler White (17:29.47) and Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln’s Josh Wheeler (18:01.68) to round out the top five.

MDI’s Jordan Harris collected an eighth-place finish to lead his team’s title quest and was joined in his team’s top five by Ransom Burgess (10, 18:38.74), Ralph Magnani (11, 18:40.87), Ethan Craigo (16, 18:52.99) and Will Richard (17, 19:02.69).
In the girls race, Caribou’s Mackenzie Belyea recorded a second-place finish with a 20:10.20 time. She was followed by MDI’s Nora Hubbell (20:17.53), Orono’s Lily Koffman (20:22.15) and John Bapst’s Adrienne Carmack (20:36.39) to round out the top five.

Besides Hubbell, pacing the Trojans’ title win were the strong finishes of their next four runners, who earned places 6, 7, 8 and 9. Twin sisters Isabel and Olivia Erickson finished sixth and ninth, respectively (21:01.23, 21:15.36) while Caroline Driscoll (21:04.68) and Waylon Henggeler (21:08.59) were seventh and eighth, respectively.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like