May 20, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Maine Dems | Texas Shooting | Royal Wedding | Preakness

Mike Hopkins rallies for victory at Speedway 95

HERMON — Mike Hopkins started eighth in the 18-car field of the Dysart’s Late Model 75-lap Team Morgan Racing shootout at Speedway 95 on Saturday night and ended up the winner by taking advantage of a late-race caution.

The yellow flag flew on the 68th lap, ending Andy Saunders 49-lap run at the front of the field. After Hopkins took the lead when the green dropped for the final seven laps of the event, Saunders was in a battle for second with Winterport’s Ryan Deane, who had led for 18 laps earlier in the race and had worked his way up from the rear of the field after an altercation with Hermon’s Phil Richardson earlier in the night

Deane also had an encounter with Richardson later in the race in an incident that saw Richardson black-flagged for unsportsmanlike conduct. Saunders managed to hold off Deane to finish second with Deane ending up third. Dean Smart of Bradley came in fourth with Josh St. Clair of Liberty finishing fifth.

OTHER SPEEDWAY 95 RESULTS: Sportsman: 1. Kris Watson, Hermon; 2. Jeremy Glazier, Appleton; 3. Bradley Norris, Ellsworth; 4. Steve Moulton, Holden; 5. Kris Matchett, Skowhegan.

Strictly Streets: 1. Jim Carr, Clifton; 2. Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 3. Shelby Kimball, Cornville; 4. David Gray, Dixmont; 5. Bob Seger Jr., Frankfort. Sport Fours: 1. Emma Libby, Glenburn; 2. Fred Ashmore, Hancock; 3. Becky Elston-Burns, Carmel; 4. Donny Silva, Hudson; 5. Keith Ogden, Holden. Bombers: 1. Jeremy Scott, Carmel; 2. Cody Robbins, Oakland; 3. Mike Runci, Belfast; 4. Chad Badger, Milo; 5. D.C. Alexander, Carmel.

OXFORD PLAINS: At Oxford Plains Speedway, Billy Childs Jr. recorded a first-place finish in the Late Model race Saturday night. Shane Green finished second and was followed by T.J. Brackett, Travis Stearns and Chris Coolidge.

OTHER OXFORD RESULTS: Outlaw One: 1. Fred Clavet, 2. Bryce Mains, 3. Gerry Richard, 4. Steve Brill, 5. Ron Abbott Jr. Outlaw Two: 1. Matt Dufault, 2. Josh Childs, 3. Guy Childs, 4. Addison Bowie, 5. Gerry Freve. Mini Stock: 1. Scott Farrington, 2. Rob Greenleaf, 3. George Fortin, 4. Darrell Moore, 5. Dan Morris. Strictly Stock: 1. Corey Morgan, 2. Ryan Hewins, 3. Skip Tripp, 4. Kurt Hewins, 5. Zach Emerson.

WINTERPORT DRAGWAY: At Winterport Dragway, Dan Emerson of Hermon captured first place in the Super Pro/Pro Final on Sunday. Carl Leeman of LeTang, New Brunswick finished second.

Super Pro Eliminator Race: 1. Dan Emerson, Hermon, 2. Don Barnes, Calais, semifinalist Bob Cousins, Brewer, semifinalist Jerry Hatch, Lubec. Pro Eliminator: 1. Carl Leeman, Letang New Brunswick, 2. Randy Herrick, Stockton Springs, semifinalist Skip Taylor, Surry. Bikes/Sleds: 1. Paul Keaten II, Waterville, 2. Dennis Greene, Sidney, semifinalist Jim Marston, Fairfield, semifinalist Jon Weeks, Waterville. Street Eliminator: 1. Gage Reynolds, Bangor, 2. Christine Leeman, Letang, New Brunswick, semifinalist Don Perkins, Blue Hill; Chevy Day Race: 1. Paul Henckel, Old Orchard Beach, 2. Gage Reynolds, Bangor, semifinalist Bill Dammier, Deer Isle, semifinalist Carl Leeman, Letang, New Brunswick.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like