June 23, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Ellsworth’s Andy Saunders takes Late Model victory at Speedway 95

HERMON, Maine — Although he has been atop the Dysart’s Late Model points chart for most of the season, it took Andy Saunders of Ellsworth until Saturday night to finally post a feature race win in the track’s premier division.

Saunders started in the fifth spot in the 17-car field, and it took him until a restart on lap 26 before he could pass Milford’s Deane Smart to take the lead. Smart had led the event for most of the first 26 laps, losing it for only a lap at a time through close competition from Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs and Hermon’s Phil Richardson. Smart fought them both off but didn’t have enough left at the end to keep Saunders from taking the win.

Smart finished second with Seekins in third. Fourth went to Joey Doyon of Winterport with Hermon’s Dale Swoboda finishing fifth.

Other Speedway 95 Results

Strictly Street: 1. Jim Carr Jr., 2. Andrew McLaughlin (Harrington), 3. Mac Hannon (Union), 4. David Gray (Dixmont), 5. Matt Kimball (Cornville); Sportsman: 1. Bradley Norris (Ellsworth). 2. 2. Shane Tatro (Holden), 3. Kris Matchett (Skowhegan), 4. Jeremy Glazier (Appleton), 5. Steve Moulton; Sport-Four: 1. Emma Libby (Glenburn), 2. Donny Silva (Hudson), 3. Fred Ashmore Jr. (Hancock), 4. Bradley Dolan (Glenburn), 5. Ted Ryder (Carmel); Bomber: 1. Jeremy Scott (Carmel), 2. Cody Robbins (Oakland), 3. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 4. Scott Bonney (Bangor), 5. Mark Lane (Newport).

Winterport Dragway

At Winterport, Rick Hunnewell of Ellsworth defeated Bob Reynolds of Winterport in the Super Pro/Pro final.

Other Winterport Results

Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Rick Hunnewell, Ellsworth, 2. Jerry Hatch, Lubec; Semifinalists: Randy Therrien, Unity, and Dan Emerson, Hermon; Pro Eliminator: 1. Bob Reynolds, Winterport, 2. Mike Jordan, Hancock; Semifinalist: Wayne Paul, Belfast; Bikes/Sleds: 1. Dennis Greene, Sidney, 2. James Colman, Saco; Semifinalist: Jim Marston, Fairfield; Street Eliminator: 1. Bill Dammier, Deer Isle, 2. Brock Wakefield, Unity; Semifinalist: Tim Wilcox, Easton; King of Street (Modified): 1. Richard Weaver, Steuben, 2. Todd Pinkham, Steuben; Semifinalists: Roger Kennedy, Steuben, and Todd Bowden, Bucksport; King of Street (11.50-inch or smaller tires): 1. Jake Perry, Orrington, 2. Tim Wilcox, Easton; Semifinalists: Gage Reynolds, Bangor, and John Kaiser, Mapleton

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like