May 24, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Mark Eves | Any-Deer Permits | RCV Strategy

Semifinalists for Mr., Miss Maine Basketball announced

By Ryan McLaughlin, BDN Staff

BANGOR, Maine — The Maine Association of Basketball Coaches announced the 10 respective finalists for Mr. and Miss Maine Basketball on Wednesday before the start of the Eastern Maine Class B semifinals.

Several EM players are on the lists.

Among the girls honorees are Fort Fairfield’s Amanda Hotham, Cony of Augusta’s Mia Diplock, Amanda Johnson of Skowhegan and Alaina Vose from Medomak Valley in Waldoboro, while Eastern Maine semifinalists for the boys include Bangor’s Patrick Stewart, Christian McCue of Hampden Academy and Mt. Blue of Farmington’s Cam Sennick.

Rounding out the girls semifinalists are Alexa Coulombe of McAuley of Portland, Deering of Portland’s Ella Ramonas, Hall-Dale of Farmingdale’s Carylanne Wolfington, Adrianna Newton from Leavitt in Turner Center, Windham’s Megan Gribbin and Selena Lorrey of Traip Academy in Kittery.

The remainder of the boys’ semifinalists includes Bobby Cote of Biddeford, Bonny Eagle’s Cole Libby, Louie Distasio of Cheverus of Portland, Cody St. Germain of Dirigo of Dixfield, Jordan Hersom of Leavitt in Turner Center, Yarmouth’s Josh Britten and Liam Langaas of York.

The rosters for Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star teams were also released during Wednesday’s news conference at the Bangor Civic Center, along with the state’s All-Academic squad, team-of-the-year nominees and regional foul shooting champions.

The Mr. and Miss Maine Basketball awards are distributed to the state’s top players, recognizing their performances on the court and their contributions to their teams and Maine high school basketball.

The winners will be announced at the Maine McDonald’s All-Star banquet at Husson University on March 9, with the Senior All-Star games to follow on March 10.

Regional foul shooting champions on the girls side include Carmen Bragg of Washburn (north), Angleana Lyons of Machias (east), Erskine Academy’s Meryl Bond (central) and Olivia Dimick of Freeport (south), while the boys winners are Colton Bivinghouse of Katahdin (north), Mattanawcook Academy’s Chase Vicaire (east), Dylan Price of Madison (central) and Greely’s Nick Clark (south).

Bill Fletcher honored

Bill Fletcher, who served as the Eastern Maine regional tournament director for 26 years before retiring after last year’s basketball tourney, was honored by the Maine Principals’ Association in a ceremony prior to Wednesday’s Class B semifinals.

Maine Principals’ Association executive director Dick Durost, along with tourney committee member Paul Soucy, Hermon High’s athletic administrator, presented Fletcher with a plaque along with a bouquet of flowers to his wife, Arlene, who has also worked at the tourneys.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like