BREWER, Maine — Mayor Joseph Ferris easily won a 10th consecutive term on the Brewer City Council in a four-way battle for a three-year term on Tuesday.

City Clerk Howard Kroll reported that Ferris landed the most votes, with 896, outpacing his opponents: local mail carrier Matthew Vachon, who received 713 votes, former council member Manley DeBeck, who had 481 votes, and homemaker Patricia Preble, who had 456.

When it came to filling two seats on the Brewer School Committee, however, voters chose two newcomers — former Washington Street School Principal Janet McIntosh, and Michael Hutchins, who taught at Brewer High School for 25 years — with 1,274 and 1,123 votes, respectively.

The incumbent candidate, Chairman Mark Farley, came in third with 989 votes and resident Benjamin Umel placed fourth with 589 votes. Calvin Bubar, who held the other expiring post, opted not to run.

Former School Committee member Mark Chambers was unopposed for a five-year term on the Brewer High School district board of trustees, which he won with 2,328 votes.