January 26, 2020
Cross Country Latest News | Kobe Byrant | Bangor Metro | Trump Impeachment | Today's Paper

Scarborough boys win Class A state cross country crown; Bangor second

CUMBERLAND — Nick Morris’ first-place finish paced Scarborough to the Class A boys state cross country title and past second-place Bangor 85-99 at Twin Brooks Recreation Area Saturday.

Morris toured the 5K course in 16 minutes, 46.81 second to edge Messalonskee of Oakland’s Harlow Ladd by 0.02 seconds, while Scarborough was also bolstered by the strong finishes of Ian Morris (17th in team scoring, 17:56.09) and Robby Hall (18th, 17:57.15).

Jonathan Stanhope placed ninth in the field to lead Bangor to its second-place finish, while the Rams’ next four runners also placed in the top 25 for team scoring:: David Correale (20th, 17:59.01), Jacob Archer (21st, 17:59.39), Jonathan Belanger (24th, 18:04.21) and Caleb Halvorson-Fried (25th, 18:06.49).

Rounding out the top five for team scoring were South Portland (130), Mount Ararat (140) and Massabesic (168).

Chris Dunn of Kennebunk finished third in the race with a 16:58.01 time while Benson Worthington of Brunswick took fourth (16:58.94) and Cameron Nadeau of Biddeford placed fifth (17:05.38).

Hampden Academy’s Andrew Closson turned in a strong effort with a 10th-place finish (17:32.63).

In the Class B state meet, Timothy Follo’s second-place finish (16:32.20) paced Falmouth to the state title with 64 points. Fryeburg Academy’s Silas Eastman won the individual title in 16:14.15 while Ellsworth’s Dan Curts finished third in 16:38.43.

Greely of Cumberland Center finished second in the team scoring with 102 points, and was followed by Caribou (103), York (105) and Cape Elizabeth (158).

Greely’s Stefan Sandreuter (17:09.08) and Nathan Medeira (17:10.53) finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the race while Presque Isle’s Matt Eager recorded a sixth-place finish (17:24.59).

Caribou placed three runners in the top 15 with Ron Lund (10th, 17:31.40), Caleb Chapman (11th, 17:36.47) and Ryan Washington (14th, 17:43.98).

Aiding the Falmouth title quest were Thomas Edmonds (12th, 17:38.80), Jay Lesser (13th, 17:39.57), Henry Briggs (18th, 17:50.17) and Colby Howland (19th, 17:51.08).

Madison’s Matthew McClintock posted the day’s best time with a 15:52.97 clocking to earn the Class C individual state title while North Yarmouth Academy claimed the team title with 74 points.

Rounding out the top five were Waynflete of Portland (108), Boothbay (111), Telstar of Bethel (115) and Winthrop (133).

Bangor Christian, led by 16th-place Sam Proctor (18:16.24), was the top Eastern Maine team in sixth place with 147 points.

Boothbay’s Chase Brown finished second in the race with a time of 16:37.63, followed by Telstar’s Josef Holt (16:55.86), Merriconeag of Freeport’s Jack Pierce (17:02.35) and Waynflete’s Abshir Horor (17:06.36).

Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln’s Matt Guiod earned a seventh-place finish in 17:34.81 while Calais’ Forrest Carle claimed eighth (17:40.56).

Helping NYA claim the team title were Alex Coffin (eighth in team scoring, 17:43.85), Evan Kendall (ninth, 17:55.70), Rudy Guliani (12th, 18:07.10), Matt Malcom (23rd, 18:28.8) and Grant McPherson (25th, 18:47.99).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like