May 23, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Lunch Debt | Robert Indiana | Stolen Shed

Hopkins secures Late Model title at Speedway 95


HERMON — Mike Hopkins of Hermon overcame a leaky front tire and finished fifth in the Late Model feature, enough to secure his spot as division champion Saturday at Speedway 95.
Wayne Parritt of Steuben took the lead on lap 27 and held on for his second victory in four weeks. Deane Smart of Bradley settled for second place, followed by Andy Saunders of Ellsworth in third and Ryan Deane of Winterport in fourth.
Super Street: 1. Steve Moulton (Holden), 2. Derek Mingo (Lamoine), 3. D.J. Moody (Prospect), 4. Deane Smart (Bradley), 5. Kris Watson (Hermon); Strictly Street: 1. Shelby Kimball (Cornville), 2. Andrew McLaughlin (Harrington), 3. Ren Dore (Addison), 4. Ryan Beale (Cherryfield), 5. Cody Brassbridge; Sport-Four: 1. Donny Silva (Hudson), 2. Bradley Norris (Ellsworth), 3. Steve Heath (Milo), 4. Gerry Phillips (Hermon), 5. Becky Elston (Carmel); Bomber: 1. Emma Libby (Glenburn), 2. Ted Ryder (Carmel), 3. Darren Durrell (Newburgh), 4. Ryan Modery (Hermon), 5. Daymon Dodge (Troy)

Unity Raceway
At Unity, Jeff Burgess of East Madison held on to notch his sixth Late Model feature victory of the season Saturday at Unity Raceway.
David Folsom I of Skowhegan finished in second place, followed by David “Deuce” Folsom II in third. Tyler Robbins of Montville took fourth place while Dylan Turner of Freedom finished fifth.
Wildcat: 1. Maurice Young (Chelsea), 2. Carl McAlpine (Burnham), 3. Shaun Austin (Norridgwock), 4. Kris Matchett (Skowhegan), 5. Ed Sleeper (Vassalboro); Legends: 1. Evan Beaulieu (Durham), 2. Mathew Burgoine (Newport), 3. Bobby Weymouth (Topsham), 4. Terry Kirk (Durham), 5. Chad Harrington (Richmond); Pro Four: 1. Steve Rackliff (Starks), 2. Tim Robinson (Clinton), 3. Lance Chapman (Benton), 4. Bryan Lancaster (Skowhegan), 5. Norm Cummings Jr. (Augusta); Monster Mini: 1. Mike Mason (Skowhegan), 2. Zach Audet (Skowhegan), 3. Tim Robinson (Clinton), 4. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 5. Greg Cummings (Augusta); Flyin’ Four: 1. Jayson Bosworth (Cornville), 2. Bob Gerard (Vassalboro), 3. Kyle Robinson (Clinton), 4. Nate Tribbett (Pittston), 5. Bruce Nickerson (Norridgewock); Challenger: 1. Chad Folsom (Skowhegan), 2. Jackson Aldrich (Waterville), 3. Samantha Farnham (Benton), 4. Jackson Aldrich (Unity), 5. Mike Stowe (Waterville); Enduro: 1. Dustin Switzer (Waterville), 2. Jeff Feyler (Windsor), 3. Kersley Santos (Waterville), 4. Josh Spencer (Unity), 5. Nick Stowe (Waterville)

Winterport Dragway
At Winterport, Bob Cousins of Brewer out-dueled Mike Whitaker of South China to win the Super Pro/Pro Final Sunday at Winterport Dragway.
Cousins also claimed the top spot in the Super Pro Eliminator. Willy Larrabee of Stockton Springs finished in second place while Jerry Hatch of Lubec was a semifinalist.
Pro Eliminator: 1. Mike Whitaker (South China), 2. Bob Harvey (Whitefield), semifinalists: Charles Lane (Sherman), David Kecki (Lowell); Bikes/sleds: 1. Jim Marston (Fairfield); Pro Street Eliminator: 1. Gage Reynolds (Bangor), 2. Randy Herrick (Stockton Springs), semifinalist: Brock Wakefield (Unity); Gamblers: 1. Jeff LaFrinea (Poland), 2. Dave Moore (Swanville), semifinalist: Randy Herrick (Stockton Springs)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like