June 20, 2018
Education Latest News | Poll Questions | Immigration | Lumber Market | RCV Ballots

Caribou instructor among three finalists for Maine Teacher of the Year

AUGUSTA, Maine — A review panel has narrowed a field of six semifinalists to three finalists for the title of 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year.

The finalists are Alana Margeson, a grades 10-11 English teacher at Caribou High School; Ingrid Stressenger, a fourth grade teacher at Pond Cove School in Cape Elizabeth and Tim Eisenhart, a ninth grade mathematics teacher at Westbrook High School.

The six semi-finalists underwent an intensive selection process consisting of a school visit, professional portfolio review and oral presentation. The three state finalists will complete a final interview before the Teacher of the Year is selected.

Review panel members participating in this year’s selection process included past Teacher of the Year recipients, principals, Department of Education staff, members of the state Board of Education and business community representatives. The 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

Hannaford Supermarkets underwrites the operating costs of the Maine Teacher of the Year program and Bangor Savings Bank will reimburse the winner’s school district for the cost of substitutes while the Teacher of the Year is out of the classroom on official duties.

Shelly Moody, a third- and fourth-grade looping teacher at Williams Elementary School in Oakland, is the 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year.

More information about the award and the finalists can be found online at: www.maine.gov/education/toy/index.html.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like