MILLINOCKET — Two political newcomers will join the Town Council and a veteran school board member was displaced, according to Election Day results released Wednesday.

Richard Angotti and Bryant Davis bested John Dicentes in the race for two three-year council seats, with Angotti collecting 1,439 votes. Davis had 1,373 votes and Dicentes took in 835, according to results released by Town Manager Eugene Conlogue.

Angotti, who said during a recent candidates forum at Stearns High School that he would promote neighborliness, greater civic participation and economic development if elected, got the second-most votes in the election.

“A community that works together can make this a town that tourists and residents can appreciate and enjoy,” Angotti said during the Katahdin Area Rotary Club Candidates Night. “Trail systems are a great attraction to this town, but we can’t live on tourism alone. It is one portion of the whole picture. Asking the state to help [town finances] is great, but they are in the same boat everyone else is in.”

Councilor David Cyr was re-elected to a one-year seat with an election-leading 1,660 votes, Conlogue said in a statement. The seat to which Cyr was elected had been filled by council Chairman Scott Gonya before his resignation.

Incumbent Millinocket school committee member Shelley Farrington was defeated in her bid for re-election.

Despite being unable to appear at the candidates forum, newcomer Donald Dow Jr. was elected to the committee with 1,458 votes and incumbent Michael Jewers was re-elected with 847 votes. Farrington got 690 votes. Gilda Stratton received 513 votes and Eric Buckingham received 373 in the race for the two open three-year seats.

Davis and Buckingham were also unable to attend the forum.

During the forum, Farrington said she envisioned students becoming much more technologically adept through the continued introduction of new technologies to the schools. She said the school’s attempt to recruit students from China, which she also supports, would create a much-needed revenue stream while broadening students’ cultural experiences.

Exactly 2,178 voters participated in this year’s election, Conlogue said.