May 21, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | Concussions | Maine Media College | Boston Red Sox

Old Town manager given leadership award

NORTHPORT, Maine — The Maine Town and City Management Association has awarded Old Town City Manager Peggy Daigle its 2010 Leadership Award, given to a manager in recognition of a particularly innovative project or for solving an unusually difficult problem.

The award was presented to Daigle at the 65th annual Manager’s Institute, held last month at the Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center in Northport.

Daigle was nominated by Orono Town Manager Cathy Conlow, largely because of Daigle’s leadership in handling the closing of the town’s paper mill and surrounding issues. Old Town Mayor David Mahan submitted a letter of support for the nomination, noting her leadership in high-profile projects, including redevelopment of the Old Town mill, and her ability to play a key role in the “smaller aspects of daily life which receive little recognition.”

Previous Leadership Award recipients include Mars Hill Manager Ray Mersereau, Lewiston Manager Phil Nadeau and 2009 winner Stefan Pakulski of Readfield. Other 2010 award winners were Manager of the Year John Bubier of Biddeford and Rookie of the Year Ephrem Paraschak of Denmark.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like